Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for what it was

Posted Nov 15, 2014
It's not the usual to plan a trip to newburgh. So i don't expect much. The front desk girl was fantastic.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Only when you have no other option!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: N/A
I ended up here because there were no other options for a no smoking room. Upon arrival, the toilet had been used and not completely flushed. The bathroom was old and badly in need of repair. The second day ( Had I not been locked into Expedia, there wouldn't have been a second day!!!!) there was garbage by the garbage can that hadn't been removed. The entire room felt dirty. I will never stay at another Howard Johnson or use Expedia again. This experience was horrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Nice staff but Old facilities. Obviously a smokers hotel even in non-smoking room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than I expected

Posted Oct 31, 2014
This stay seriously updates my opinion of Howard Johnsons. Our room was huge, opening with sliding glass doors into a lovely garden area. the pool was large. Well heated and Indoors. They do need to add some healthier options to their complimentary breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Old outdated motel. The continental breakfast was nothing to talk about. We ate at a different location for breakfast the next day. The room ac was very noisey. Would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newburgh, NY

Hotel was not what we saw online.

Posted Sep 18, 2014
This hotel was not what we saw online. The rooms were not clean. I had to ask for a different room because bathroom was not clean. The hotel really needs to be updated. Breakfast was terrible! I would not recommend anyone to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Everyone was extremely helpful

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Friendliness and cleanliness
Location: Located close to orange county choppers an excellent bonus
Everyone was very helpful because I kept getting lost. I enjoyed my stay and would visit and stay again if I am in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally fine. What you would expect from a HoJo.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Everything was A OK. It's a HoJo so nothing to rave about but actually better than I expected. Good place to stop for the night on your way somewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Close to restaurants and shopping centers

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Unfriendly front desk receptionist. broken ice machine, no fridge in room
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old unkept motel.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It should be bull dozed it's outlived it's usefulness.
As you walk down the hallway towards your room, there is a powerful smell of something they are using to cover up the 50 years of smoking that is still allowed in the motel. My room was non smoking, I think that just for the 3 nights I was there. Areas of no paint on the bathroom walls, holes in the wall, globs of yellow ancient chalking around the toilet bottom. The shower leaked, drip, drip, drip. No maid service my second night. A sticker on the bathroom door from a previous guest. I woke up in the middle of the night all stuffed up from the noxious air. I had to kept the air conditioning on all night. There was a thick layer of dust on the tv console. The facecloth was like sandpaper. The towels didn't absorb water...I don't know what they were made of. If I had paid forty a night I would expect what I got. This is a one star folks!