Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Erie, PA

Cheap - And very aware of that.

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Bed comfort, plugs near bed.
Location: Within walking distance of several restaurants. Orange County Choppers right next door. Short cab ride to most anywhere. No shuttle service.
I'm not one to write reviews, so this'll be short. Bathroom sink was clogged, told front desk in the morning, fixed by the time I returned. Bed - uncomfortable as hell. Sheets/blankets were far too thin, mattress was hard as a rock. Curtains were blackout with no sheers, so you could never open your windows without the people from across the way seeing everything you were doing. No plugs nearby to charge near bed, had to unplug lamp. No elevator to second floor. (Didn't really matter to me) Continental breakfast was total crap. It's a place to stay cheaply.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester, NY

Newburgh

Posted Jan 19, 2015
This is a nice motel. The free breakfast is very limited though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Great hotel for the price and location!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Me, my fiancée, our toddler and family friend all stayed a week in Newburgh at this hotel. We came to do visit family and spend most of our time in NYC. It was only an hour from the city. We checked in late our first night and the women at the desk was extremely friendly.. I believe her name started with an S or something. Our stay was great. We enjoyed our cozy room. Everything worked fine. Everything was decently clean and comfortable. My only complaint was a few of the housekeepers were very rude and acted annoyed if we were still in our room when them came to clean and asked to come a bit later. As well as a few of the mornings when we went to enjoy the free breakfast, some housekeepers sat and watched what we did and what we ate and how much we took. I was even told that I took "too many plates" when I actually needed them since I was bringing food back for my daughter and fiancée. And while we ate I was stared at and talked about. Another quick thing was they don't have any working cribs for guests who need them which definitely caused issues when it came to sleeping at night. But other than that everything was great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No and never

Posted Dec 29, 2014
No and never want to live here again No and never want to live here again No and never want to live here again! Big noise !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Convenience location to take care of family affair

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Location and reasonable rates.
Cons: Seem to us that bread on continental b'fast, could be fresher.
Location: Visit many well known business, like Orange County Choppers, Military Academy @ West Point., etc.
We've stayed @ this hotel a couple of times before, and the remodel done lately, really gives a nice fresher look. Make our stay more confortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK for what it was

Posted Nov 15, 2014
It's not the usual to plan a trip to newburgh. So i don't expect much. The front desk girl was fantastic.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Only when you have no other option!

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: N/A
I ended up here because there were no other options for a no smoking room. Upon arrival, the toilet had been used and not completely flushed. The bathroom was old and badly in need of repair. The second day ( Had I not been locked into Expedia, there wouldn't have been a second day!!!!) there was garbage by the garbage can that hadn't been removed. The entire room felt dirty. I will never stay at another Howard Johnson or use Expedia again. This experience was horrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Nice staff but Old facilities. Obviously a smokers hotel even in non-smoking room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than I expected

Posted Oct 31, 2014
This stay seriously updates my opinion of Howard Johnsons. Our room was huge, opening with sliding glass doors into a lovely garden area. the pool was large. Well heated and Indoors. They do need to add some healthier options to their complimentary breakfast.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by LLGfrom PR

Smelling room

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Shower had mold. Room smelled bad.