Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenience

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: the staff interaction at reception on the different occasions i had cause to talk to them
Cons: redo the toilet/bathroom in different materials
Location: location was chosen for convenience to training venue
I didn't expect much and wasn't disappointed in that respect. i found i was restricted to one power point for use with charging devices, ironing and bioling the kettle. the cord on the kettle was barely long enough to reach from the point to the kettle. the cord length for the iron was just long enough to use however made the miserable job of ironing shorts even more miserable. traffic noise was evident despite the window being closed. The 'cubicle' in the room offered up as the shower/toilet area had an odour about it that made me think that the materials it was made of were leeching. other than that, staff were great. Oh, and the battery cover on the remote kept falling off, small distraction that, for some dumb reason, i kept trying to refix to the remote, with the inevitable end result.
Comment from
Jan 18, 2014
Dear valued customer, Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here in Newcastle. I am sorry to hear that it did not fulfill your satisfaction. We will review the comments made about the appliances in the room and will make changes where possible to improve in our services. Kind regards Thomas Klotz General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LT from Mango Hill Qld. 4509

Good weekend or over night option.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Fitted the criteria we were looking for 'PLV'. Price, Location & Vacancy.
Cons: Carparking on site could be an issue. Not enough spaces provided the weekend we stayed.
Location: Central to all areas,we hired a car and traveled to the Hunter region (Hope Estate),drove around Newcastle and did a spot of sightseeing, easy access.
The ibis Newcastle is a good overnight stay or long weekender, would stay there again if required. Has it's own buffet breakfast on site, clean rooms, friendly staff and central to all that Newcastle has to offer.
Comment from
Jan 28, 2014
Dear LT, Thank you for taking the time to post this review about your stay here in Newcastle. We do appreciate your comments and will share them with our team. We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future. Kind regards Thomas Klotz General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, value for money

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Basic facilities in the room. Dissapointed that there was only a kettle in the room, no toaster. Internet access was expensive at @26.95 for a 24 hour connection
Comment from
Jan 26, 2014
Dear ibis traveler, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent stay in Newcastle. We do appreciate your comments, will review each point and focus on actions to ensure our products and offers are aligned with the needs of our guests. Kind regards Thomas Klotz General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Melissa from Brisbane

Ok for a one night stay

Posted Feb 16, 2014
I think the hotel is very basic is ok for a one night stay, for longer stays there are nicer hotels at the waterfront.
3 out of 5
by RICCARDO

Reasonable accommodations close to cbd and beaches

Posted Feb 11, 2014
The hotel staff is the only reason why I would recommend this hotel. The room was dirty and uncomfortable. Very cheap. Door kept banging while we were trying to sleep because the hallway window was open n forcing warm wind to cause door to bang All Night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Practical hotel

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had issues with the lock on the door that took about 10-15 mins to sort out, but the staff were very thoughtful, apologetic and helpful. It was only an overnight stay, so it was a practical hotel and met my needs. The location is probably on the less active side of Newcastle city - only fast food chains in walking distance. But if you have a car everything is nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brian & Hannah from Glasgow

Decent hotel

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our check in was delayed as the room had not been cleaned but room reasonable given the low price. We did need to move room as the window was broken in the first room, rendering the AC useless. Internet access in reception was very handy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

very small room but convenient location

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: clean, close to beach and shops (By car)
Cons: room had a musty smell but window could be left open so it was fine
3 out of 5
by brenda from singapore

Clean hotel but strange city

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: As other ibis hotels, this one is simple, no frills but clean and well priced.
Cons: All ok
Location: We were just passing by newcastle and found the city a little desolate and devoid of activity. Had to bypass train station to bay area.