Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Sieve Donard, Newcastle, Co Down.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel is trading on its location (which is spectacular) and reputation (a Hastings hotel) It has a great Spa and the room that we got was comfortable, but overlooked the bins. The bar was quiet with no music, little atmosphere and closed about 12. The dinner menu was overpriced and unadventurous, with those we could see in the dining room at lunch being almost exclusively elderly guests. A bit like and old folks residential home. The staff at breakfast, in the spa and in the bar were very nice, but the reception staff less so. Our hairdryer didn't work and reception were less helpfull trying to get a replacement sorted out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lisburn

Beautiful views n amazing pool/spa area

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Only stayed one night but thoroughly enjoyed it-lounging at the pool area taking in the views and the afternoon tea was superb. Beautiful hotel and very friendly staff. Highly recommend the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cork

Lovely holiday

Posted Aug 1, 2014
We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and had a wonderful holiday. We had a lovely room and found the staff always friendly and helpful. The gym and leisure facilities were super and clean and the view from the pool was stunning. The only disturbance was the sound from other rooms' TV s in the early hours. We look forward to another stay at the hotel very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

Great old hotel, great venue for Van Morrison!

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: The staff, the food, and the location.
Cons: More training for new staff. On the evening, one or two looked a little 'lost' and were being cursed at by senior members for not walking fast enough
Location: Nice little seaside town of Newcastle with mainly charity shops. Have a drive up the Mourne coastal route to see some amazing views.
We stayed 2 nights at Sleive Donard, restaurant food was excellent, though the waiter seemed a little nervous and one of my lamb balls dropped into my lap as he served it on a modern slate board. Perhaps plates would be a good idea when training new staff? Anyhow, no harm done. We saw Van Morrison on the grand hall, and the room looked stunning. The wine was a little pricey at £31 a bottle, but the food was nice, and the service was very good. Cleanliness second to none, door staff couldn't be any more friendly or helpful, they were lovely. Our greeting from the receptionist was lovely, and overall our stay was great fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Good hotel didn't think room warranted superior status. Not much different from standard room in which I previously stayed hotel staff especially check in staff left a lot to be desired dissapointing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with lovely views of the Mournes

Posted Jul 21, 2014
We had a super time Great spa facilities great food and a lovely place to chill out. Staff were very helpful. Overall a thoroughly relaxing three days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co Antrim

Enjoyable stay

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Stayed for one night. The hotel is beautiful and our room was very comfortable. There were plenty of options for breakfast, although we found the fry to be a bit bland. Took advantage of the spa, which is lovely and full marks to the hotel for allowing guests to make use of it up until 3pm after checking out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Spectactular hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: I loved the ambiance and the fact that I could see the mountains and sea from my room.
Cons: Not a lot
Location: Easy access to shopping, the beach, restaurants and great places to walk
This was complete luxury and a magnificent place to stay. The staff were courteous and friendly. The rooms were spotless. All in all just fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

Lovely Hotel with great service

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: Maybe a few more receptionists at busy times.
It was my wife's birthday and the little extra touches in room made our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful especially when it came to organising taxis and trains we needed. View from room was great and was very comfortable. Food was really good and a nice easy walk to beach or town. Only complaint would be that a receptionist was a bit snappy because we turned up for check in too early. We would recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly

Ancient hotel but modernized

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: History
Location: Not much to do in town. Golf is the only attraction
We stayed one night here. Our first room had power problems and we were upgraded to a better one. It was fine and staff were accommodating.