Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sunderland

Nice room but...

Posted Feb 16, 2015
I come here on Valentine's day, I did enjoy the stay here although I did not enjoy the valentines set menu meal as it was extremely small, I ate mine but my fiancé had his 3 Corse meal (duck for starter, vennasin for main and brownie for desert) the main was the size of a starter and dust come with any side so I gave half my chips to my partner, it was that small after we finished he went next door and orderd a burger in the bar, the room was nice and clean although I didn't have a comfortable sleep as there was a spring popping through the mattress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake District

excellent hotel for theatre trips

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel coffee lounge with the most fabulous patisserie selection. Worth going for! Yum!
Cons: Room too hot -needed way of cooling
Location: By the sea -but it was raining! October illuminations on promenade - but we didn't see - went out at 5.30pm, back at 10.30pm. Switched off at 10!
We expected dated and tired. BUT what we got was refurbished and modern and delightful. Quite tastefully glitzy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cork Ireland

Lovely location close to the sea

Posted Oct 13, 2014
We stayed at the Roker Hotel for a weekend and had a brilliant time. We found the food excellent and the staff were very friendly. We would have no hesitation in staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom bolton lancs

enjoyed our stay and will be returning again

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: the hotel is right on the sea front with good views of the sea
Cons: nothing
Location: good bus stop right out side the hotel to town centre .
t he crumbs restuartant was very good excellent service the staff very friendly the hotel in a good position.and easy parking .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value hotel

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Location, staff and the bed!
Cons: The real ale was very poor. I spoke to one of the managers who explained that it was a new system.
Stayed on a Sunday night on my own. I have a really bad back and find it difficult to find a hotel bed that's comfortable but the bed was excellent. The room was to the rear of the hotel and a little dark but clean, comfortable and fairly spacious. The hotel staff were excellent, helpful and really friendly. I stayed at the Marriott down the road last year which was ok but this at half the price was much better! I will definitely be back next year when i visit Sunderland again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2013
3 out of 5
by Aussietravellerfrom Western Australia, Australia

Seaside hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Pros: The location is good and the view excellent. Nice bar and good food
Cons: The heat of the room, the noise level and the uncomfortable bed
Location: Great location opposite Roker pier and the beach
The hotel is nice and the staff helpful. Good location on the sea-front, nice bar and food. The only problem we had was the room was very hot due to a boiler pipe that runs through the room - possibly nice in winter, but unbearable on a warm summer night. The hall door slammed shut every time someone went through, so impossible to sleep, especially with the room facing the kitchen and bottles being stacked till the early hours. Not helped by a very lumpy, uncomfortable bed, it wasn't a good night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nothing to write home about

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Pros: The location
Cons: The horrible smell in room 123
Location: Excellent location on the sea front and well located for restaurants
When we first arrived at the hotel, I requested a room with a view. I was told there weren't any left. However there were very few people at breakfast the next morning. We were then given room 123, however on entering the room we were met with a very unpleasant smell, like blocked drains. We were given a second room 135 and the room itself was OK, but it had no natural light and you felt like you were in a dungeon. The breakfast was very nice and the service good, although the coffee was cold.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gillyfrom Whitby

Room with a view

Posted Mar 24, 2013
Pros: The view and excellent room
Excellent location for where we wanted to be. The room was fantastic. The view was amazing from our window. You could sit on the window seat and look out across the sea , look at the lighthouse at the end of the jetty. You could even look out from the extra large bed in the room. The room was very large with leather sofa and flat screen TV. Clean throughout. Breakfast was really good eat as much as you wanted. Nothing to much trouble i asked for a fried egg and no problem at all. Would definitely go back here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathfrom Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK

Good stay at Roker Hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Pros: Comfy bed. Good shower. Sea view.
Cons: Lighting to low for putting make up on. Drain smell in bathroom
Location: On the sea front. Neat city centre.
Very good stay. Lovely room. Good value. Will come again.