Ratings based on 183 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

restaurant service poor

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Will look for somewhere else
We were ignored after a coach load of tourists arrived. We were in the restaurant before the coach party and our order had been placed - we were also asked to wait 35 minutes before we went into the restaurant and it was obvious the restaurant was not busy. It became clear that all staff were involved in preparation for coach party and everyone else became second class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel. Location perfect for our trop

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Provided everything we needed for an open day visit to Newcastle University
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Handy to the A6

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Quiet - met expectations.
Cons: The restaurant menu could be improved. Standard grilled chicken covered with a slab of bacon overlaid with tasteless melted white cheese.
Location: Apart from the convenience of the motorway, nothing is close - with the exception of a Burger King/Little Chef.
It's a Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean and in good condition. Comfortable beds and it was quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dundee

Weekend stay at holiday in gosforth park

Posted May 18, 2015
Had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend stay at this hotel . Room was large and light . Bed very comfortable and en suite was spotless .very friendly helpful staff . We were down from Scotland for the rugby so hotel maybe just slightly too far out but I am more than happy with my stay .restaurant on site but didn't use this as food was available in the bar area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

will return

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: the staff were great
Cons: wi fi speed and connection
good breakfast and very pleasant staff. rooms newly updated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Carlisle

Reasonable

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: the location
Cons: less noise
This hotel is perfectly fine for an overnight stay. The rooms are clean and spacious but the hotel decor is a bit dated and, on this occasion, it was quite noisy. Fine for business. The food in the bar was good and the staff served us right at closing time without any complaints but breakfast was nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls Canada

nice hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly personnel
Cons: new menu same food as last time I was there
Location: Hike at Northumberlanda really beautiful
excellent personnel helpful courteous good location not far from hotel and Newcastle taxicab service from borderline cab excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Philip from Scunthorpe

Good Hotel in general with minor comments

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Overall the Hotel is very nice. It's in a good location with easy access to the A1. The rooms are spacious. The car park is very big and we had no problems parking (despite there being a wedding reception on during the saturday evening). We used the swimming pool, which our 2 small children loved. No problems in this area. The hotel food is good quality (maybe a touch pricey) and we had no complaints. We paid for breakfast on two mornings and the breakfast is an all you can eat buffet (cooked english or cereals / fruit / yogurts). Adults had to pay, but children were free. Our only complaint was that on our final morning, we went for breakfast and the staff in there were very miserable and were quite rude to my wife. We asked nicely for a high chair and we were left feeling we had inconvenienced the woman in there (high chairs are kept in the back room so you have to ask). She also made some muttered comment about my children going home anyway that day. Another member of staff was also unhelpful and miserable. We raised this issue with checkout on the way out, so we did not wait until the written review to unfairly post the comment. The reception staff were very apologetic and said they would speak to the supervisor. So overall, at least they accepted the critisism ok. This is a very clean and tidy hotel which is well maintained. In the end we were happy with the stay though. We would stop here again despite feeling a little upset on the way out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2015 by Hotel team, Hotel Management
Thank you Philip and great to read that you would stay with us on a future visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ruth from Lancashire

Amazing Hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic room and bathroom. We will always stay here when we work in Newcastle
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2015 by Hotel team, Hotel Management
Thank you Ruth for the 5 stars & assurance that you will be back to stay with us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Keith from Perth

Stay Thursday 12th March

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
Overall an okay stay The room however had no phone, I needed this to call reception regarding the WIFI. This meant a trip back down to reception to resolve.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2015 by Hotel team, Hotel Management
We are truly sorry for this oversight - all rooms have been checked and are back to normal. Many apologies for our mistake & the inconvenience.