Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Near Glasgow, Scotland

Comfortable friendly hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Stayed one night in the hotel as we were going to a show at the radio metro arena. We had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed a pleasant meal in the hotel's Italian restaurant. The facilities in the room are excellent. Tea/coffee is available along with bottled water, orange juice and other bits and pieces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stockton on Tees

Can't beat Geordie Hospitality

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, cleanliness of room.
Cons: At check in it would have been helpful if the reception staff had asked if we wanted to register a credit card for use during our stay.
Visited Newcastle on 04/12/2014 for a concert in the City Hall and was looking for a hotel in walking distance of the venue. The Holiday Inn, Jesmond, ticked all the boxes. Spotlessly clean and welcoming with free parking thrown in. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel and both were first class. After check out the following day we were able to leave the car in the car park and walk into town for a little Christmas retail therapy. All in all a pleasurable stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

zentrumsnah (fußläufig) und gute Anbindung (underg

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: der kurze Weg ins Zentrum der Stadt
Cons: der Betreiber könnte gründlicher putzen lassen (Haarband und Zopfspange im "frisch" bezogenem Bett (vom Vornutzer) Handtücher wurden auf dem Fußboden
Location: kurze Wege ins Zentrum
Besuch der am Ort studierenden Tochter. Persönliche Dinge im Bereich der Familie möchte ich nicht darstellen
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Glasgow

Very disappointing.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Frankly, nothing, apart from a comfortable bed.
I was given a room with no direct access by lift. I am 80 years of age; I have a bad knee; I have difficulty in walking yet I had to climb half a set of stairs to get to my room. I found it cool, a temperature of 18 degrees and the thermostat did not work. The majority of the staff in the dining room seem not to speak English nor understand it. When I asked what time lunch was served I was told 4 o'clock and then told 6 o'clock. It turned out they do not serve lunch at all. I could see nothing in that hotel to recommend it. £99 for one night? Not worth a fraction of that.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mainz

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Ich war leider nur für 3 tage da also sehr kurz aber alles war sehr schön und Wetter optimal für Stadt bumeln und spazieren am Strand! ☺
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Harrow

Contemporary hotel within walking distance of City

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: Variety of pillows available of different firmness ratings. Complimentary tea, coffee, juice, water, biscuits and chocolate bars.
Cons: Would benefit having second internal door between bedroom space and corridor; inconsiderate people leaving early always slam their doors shut! Noisy!
Location: 3-4 minute walk to Jesmond Metro station and lively restaurants and bars in Osbourne Road
An excellent well maintained and contemporary style hotel under the Holiday Inn banner. Although alongside one of the main roads into the city centre, the hotel feels quiet and detached. Rooms are a good size, very comfortable and nicely furnished. Some bathrooms have spacious walk-in showers so if you specifically want a bath tub, make sure you request one. Rooms offer a variety of pillows available with different firmness ratings. Complimentary tea, coffee, juice, water, biscuits and chocolate bars are a very nice welcome touch. Good choice of food at the breakfast buffet, including eggs cooked to order. In the evening the breakfast room becomes an Italian restaurant with a very nice menu and well presented food. Located in Jesmond, just a 10-15 minute walk into the busy city centre of Newcastle, or 3-4 minute walk to Jesmond Metro station with easy access to the city centre, train station and airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford

City break hotel

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, friendliness
Cons: Comfort of double bed in room 113
Location: Chic restaurants and bars in nearby Jesmond, handy for visiting universities and city centre, only 15 mins by car to the coast.
Good facilities, excellent food, restaurant, bar and lounge areas. Plenty of parking, excellent location for chic Jesmond, city centre and universities, close to Metro. Bedrooms all good size, however the double bed in our room no 113 completely sagged in the middle, springs had gone, so impossible to sleep with 2 in the bed. The hotel reception staff were very apologetic, friendly and efficient and moved us to another room without any hassle, also giving us a free upgrade to a king size room. Both rooms very clean with super bathrooms. Restaurant superb, good choice of food, attentive staff, breakfast also good. All staff friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Great hotel in Newcastle

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Hotel excellent. Kept immaculate and tidy. Breakfast was great. Lounge and bar area great too and staff went the extra mile to help. Added bonus of complimentary juice, water and biscuits in room. Not in the town centre which suited us fine. We took the metro 1 stop or a taxi (£5) to town. Would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buckinghamshire

Nice hotel close to metro station

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Free parking
Location: Antico was a very nice place to have dinner
Very convenient for town and for lively nightlife in jesmond
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by DCfrom yorkshire

Good location

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location for us as were visiting St Gabriel's Church on Sunday morning and it was just one mile away. We walked to Heaton on Saturday evening over the Armstrong Bridge. Breakfast was good and the room comfy. However Saturday night stay was a bit pricy.