Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good value, clean hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Good value and good facilities
Cons: Some areas of hotel need updated.
Booked a room with two doubles. Overall great value at £59 on a room only basis for a mid week. The room was adequate and clean. Used the pool facilities too which again were clean. We also had a buffet breakfast at £10 per person which was good with plenty of cereals, yoghurts, bread, hot food etc on offer. Some of the areas of the hotel maybe do look a little tired and dated I.e bathroom, pool changing room but still kept clean. That won't put me off returning again though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Farnborough, Hampshire

A good stop

Posted Jul 15, 2014
While it is currently undergoing a refurbishment of some rooms the overall standard was very good - the staff could not have been more helpful and the restaurant with kids eating free was particularly value for money with a very good menu and food above what you would expect. We sayed there (4 adults and 4 children) in three rooms all of which were clean, comfortable and well equipped. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful, the restaurant staff could not have tried harder. Overall very good and better than we expected - well recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glenrothes, Fife

Good hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Just stayed the one night after a late flight into Newcastle airport. Cant fault the room or the staff. Only issue was the pricing of food and drink. £4.55 for a Bacardi & coke is a bit much, and £14 for a cooked breakfast is ridiculous. Tip, travel 10 minutes to the Shire Horse cavery at Killingworth for a great cooked breakfast for £4
3 out of 5
Recommended
by On a wee trip from Dromara

Very respectable

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The outside of the hotel looked very 'tired' which was a bit off putting, but the inside was tidy/clean. Loved being able to select firmness of pillow! :-)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average hotel ....... Nothing to shout about

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Booked spa and overnight stay Had issues regarding facilities available to us ( only 6 loungers round pool side following treatments ), management most unhelpful. A mare from start to finish. Was not a relaxing experience ! Hotel rooms average nothing to shout about.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great wee stay Clean airy room Lovely staff

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: rooms airy nice fluffy towels
Cons: Bar area a bit clinical and felt slightly morgue atmosphere ...
Location: their is the Village with three pubs & wheatherspoons A Chinese a club for all age esp. elderly to do bingo and dance taxi £6. ALSO 3 MILE PUB
On a bus route of which busses run frequently... £3.00 Adult £0.80 child.. Staff very helpful at all times--Great Pool and facilities of use... We didn't eat Nor drink here so I can not comment. Taxi back into town centre Newcastle cost £12.50 At all times with borderline taxi booked through the hotel. All in All very nice clean hotel .....
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Ashley B from Peterborough

Worst

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was literally the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. The rooms were fine, but the staff was the rudest group of people I have ever dealt with in any situation. I checked in really late and asked for late check out. After the fire alarms went off at 5am I asked again and was told by the night manager that I shouldn't have stayed up so late if I was concerned for my sleep and again refused to allow me (to even pay extra) to have late checkout. When the fire alarm went off at 6am, I again asked a worker in my hallway. He told me I should turn my music (Mumford and sons, low volume) off and go to sleep and stop being in the hallway...despite the fire alarm. So. This hotel gets the worst, yet fair, review of any place I had ever stayed and I would discourage anyone from staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gary Patterson from Aberdeenshire

Excellent Weekend

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an excellent stay, great for a family getaway. The hotel was very nice, rooms well sized, and the swimming pool and sauna/steam room offered a great leisure facility. The hotel was easily accessible off of the A1 and it took minutes to get to both the Metro Shopping Centre for the ladies, and to St. James' Park for the lads. Breakfast is also very worthwhile to add to your hotel room price. Great weekend.