Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE Scotland

Newcastle's hidden gem

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: the staff – as already mentioned quite exceptional food – not inexpensive but excellent quality
Cons: lighting in the dining room was poor – especially for those of us with 60-year-old eyes!
Location: The hotel is located in a wooded glade just north of Newcastle town centre. It is very convenient for the A1 and is also close to bus routes etc
We used the hotel as a base whilst I underwent some tests and procedures at the Royal Victoria infirmary. The staff could not have been more helpful and all in all the quality of our stay was exceptional. The bedrooms are understated but well-equipped. Our room was spacious and incorporated a substantial ensuite bathroom (possibly made bigger by disability provision). The hotel offers free Wi-Fi this was always up and running. We experienced room service and dining in the restaurant and also took some bar meals. As one might expect the meals are individually prepared and in consequence the range is limited. Vegetarian options are limited but if one includes fish in the diet the choice is wider. by far the most striking feature of the whole experience was the pleasant and personal rapport with all members of staff. Clearly someone takes great care in recruiting, training and monitoring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bedfordshire

stay at hotel enroute from scotland to england

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: The attention to detail was extremely good including a welcome note and the fan in the room was much appreciated.
This is a first-class hotel in every way. The hotel was very clean and our room had every facility. We e had a choice of teas and filter roast coffee. The choice on the dinner menu was good and presented very well. The waitress was very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Helle from Aarhus

lovely old house

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice and cosy, and very good (free) internet and other amenities. It is a bit out of town, but a good choice if visiting Northumbria University or just wanting lovely surroundings for walks etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by robb from wakefield

One night stay

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Cons: Cooked breakfast could look a bit more appetising
We stayed here for one night only, for a valentine's treat Hotel was very nice, staff very helpful Would stay again,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andy from Lancaster

Fantastic service all round

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Really comfy room, extremely helpful and friendly staff and a superb breakfast! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff...even bringing a late night snack from the kitchen after returning from town! Lovely location too, had a relaxing walk by the river before heading off.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steve

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Norwich, UK

Elegant hotel on periphery of city centre

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Pros: Country-House meets Boutique hotel. Quirky decoration in public areas
Cons: The mastic in the shower could do with replacing. But, actually, nothing disappointed.
We were visiting our daughter (first term at Uni - Zoology seeing as you asked). Remarkably reasonably priced small hotel. Clean, comfortable and the staff were charming. We had a standard room which was a good size. This will be our Newcastle base for the next 3 years. Near enough to centre (£8.00 taxi) but just far enough to deter stag/hen parties
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bossy from Staffordshire, UK

Brill Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2013
Pros: the room, the food, and the walk in the woods behind the hotel
Cons: nothing
Location: jesmond, it was about 30 mins to walk to town centre
The Hotel was fantastic. From check-in to check out, the staff were very helpful, breakfast was good. We had full afternoon tea there, it looked impressive and was. We had a junior suite which was beautiful and spacious. I would definitely recommend and go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2013 on Hotels.com