Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by PT from London

Nice location, bit of need to refurbish

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Rooms are the best part. As one lift was broken, took often 3-4 minutes to get a lift. Gym exists but really is in need of upgrade as the equipment is limited and modest and room stuffy. Check-out and taxi waiting can add 30 min to the morning exit. So, plenty of potential for its good location and nice rooms but needs a bit of work to stay ahead of growing pack of competitors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Daynaman

Great North Run experience

Posted Sep 15, 2013
Pros: Perfectly placed for our purposes if attending the race and for a wander around the town centre. Really nice facilities and views of the River Tyne.
Cons: Sort out a room for family of five and this would be an excellent recommendation .
Location: Right next to the Quayside and a five minute walk to some really nice restaurants and bars.
Booked this room to attend the mini and junior Great North Run. We need a room for two adults and three children and this was clear from the booking. On arrival the room had one king size bed and no sofa bed. Went back to reception and got a really pleasant staff member who gave us another room which had two doubles which was sufficient for one night. It was a much bigger room but didn't have a bridge view. No big deal. Don't know where the problem lay but sorted quick enough. Hotel was perfect for our visit and would highly recommend this hotel but for initial problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Great location in terms of nightlife, restaurants etc but a bit far from the shops. A great, friendly place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Malmaison Newcastle

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Location: Good location as views over the Tyne are great, near the Baltic Exchange. Some may want to take a taxi into town rather than walk up steep hills!
Stayed a few times over the last five years and staff always very friendly and helpful but the condition of the hotel has sadly deteriorated and there needs to be some re-decoration/updating. Low lighting throughout the hotel making it very dark everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Becky from Surrey

Make sure you have a room with a view.

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Pros: The view
Cons: The bar and brasserie
Location: Great location right next to the river. Also a stone's throw from Ouseburn if you want to explore somwhere a little more quirky.
Decor a bit tired in the public areas but lovely large room with a fantastic view over the river. A room with a view definitely worth paying extra for. Dining experience less good, we only had breakfast but felt it could have been better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by matt from North Shields, Tyne and Wear, UK

"for the view alone!"

Posted Oct 25, 2012
Pros: the bed
Cons: james on reception
Location: perfect
poor attitude from james on reception when we checked in had us looking around for basil, sybil and herds of wildebeest....however that was tempered by friendly room service staff who went the extra mile, were very personable and seemed genuinely happy we were staying there!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sophie Jane from Surrey, UK

Stylish, comfortable hotel on the Quayside

Posted Oct 19, 2012
Pros: Great location, wonderfully decorated and comfortable rooms, sauna, gym and good cocktail bar
Cons: Expensive, but worth the splurge if you want a treat and luxury comforts
Location: Quayside is by the river and the hotel overlooks the river and the Millennium Bridge, which lights up at night
The Malmaison Newcastle is definitely one of the best hotels in the city and located in the best area - The Quayside. The hotel was undergoing building work around the outside of the building and staff were kind enough to move me and my friend into a better room and it was an executive room, which meant more spacious and in a quieter part of the hotel. The comfort of this room was excellent. I'd stayed in this hotel twice before and been in standard twin bedrooms on different floors, but this time was the best. Our beds were big, very comfortable indeed and it wasn't easy getting up in the morning! The rooms are very trendy in general and well decorated with contemporary, stylish modern design. Tea and coffee making facilities are all a bonus and toiletries are Malmaison own brand and very good. There is a beauty spa on the lower ground floor with a sauna. Gym is on the 4th floor. The Mal Bar is open until 1am every night and I've had several good cocktails here. There are Quaylink yellow buses to and from Haymarket Metro station in the city centre which stop right outside the Malmaison, I recommend getting on one of these buses to Haymarket to get the metro to the airport if you want to save money by avoiding taxis. There is no need to get taxis, as the Malmaison is walking distance to the centre, Monument and Central stations and shopping areas, good cafes and restaurants and lovely walks along the riverside. I will stay here again next time I'm in Newcastle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't believe it's only a 3* hotel !

Posted May 28, 2012
This hotel was a brilliant find! Can not believe that it is only a 3 *. Well worth a visit if staying in Newcastle. Fantastic location near to the quayside and the Millenium Bridge. The area near the hotel is buzzing. Yet in the room it was very quiet. The room was very spacious and one could not really ask for any more amenities in the room. Brilliant. The staff we encountered were very friendly and knowledgable. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely restaurant with great menu and the hotel even has a spa!! We used the private taxi firm that the hotel recommend which operate on meters so are no more expensive than the black cabs. Very professional and again all our requests were met. Fantastic service. Excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fun on the Tyne

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Pros: The view
Cons: Nothing
Location: Brilliant
A great welcome on arrival, a wonderful room with a magnificent view for us to relax in, a fantastic location for having fun and a brilliant few days that went far too swiftly