Ratings based on 412 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, Telford

Relaxing Stay in the City

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: I liked the spa pool and sauna inside the spa facilities, the hotel lounge, breakfast buffet and my hotel room bathroom.
Cons: The rooms could be a bit more quiet at night.
Location: The hotel was adjacent to the railway station and near to the "centre for life" science museum. Also a walk away from the main restaurants and shops.
The Royal Station Hotel was a nice elegant place to stay, with magnificent chandeliers and relaxing spa facilities. Also, the hotel was at a convenient walking distance to attractions and shopping centres.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Not for me.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Seemed a bit like a Hotel for revellers. Lots of groups of people partying late into the morning and continuing their sessions in the Hotel rooms/ corridors. Staff were quite apathetic. Room was clean but insecure (window and door locks broken). Not somewhere I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Good hotel next to train station

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location next to the train station. You can enter and leave from the hotel without going outside.
Cons: Air conditioning. The windows don't open and it is very warm in the summer
Location: It is located right downtown next to bars, restaurants, subway stations and close to the Quays and the river Tyne.
We stayed 3 nights at the Royal Station Hotel in a Superior Double Room. The room was big and the bathroom modern. The free minibar was a nice touch. Unfortunately, during our stay, there was road work just in front so it was a little bit noisy in the morning. There was no air conditioning but they provided a fan. If you go during the summer and you are used to AC you might not be comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north east

Horrendous

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: staircase, staff and breakfast
Cons: omgoodness, air conditioning to rooms at the front, the noise was awful till 4 am. bigger beds, more lighting,
Location: good location, very central to everything 10/10 for that
Worst night ever we were in room 336, and supposed to have been upgraded, but if this was an upgrade id love to see the room we were in, very disappointing, it was so hot we had to leave the window open all night you couldn't breathe, being at the front it was the noisiest place we have been, noisier than New York...the sink leaked when you ran water in, to the bathroom, lights were that dim you couldn't read, and only half of them could be put on, the double bed was awful more like an oversized single.....and marks to the walls needed painting, .we were looking forward to this so much...we had both lost our husbands recently and wanted to enjoy our night away...it was a lot of money for us...breakfast was amazing well worth the money...and the staff were lovely....id never recommend this hotel at all....if we had stayed more than one night, id have asked to be moved to the rear, no air conditioning is silly...very sad, we had to sleep all day yesterday as none was there on sturday...im sorry but that's truthful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Lovely hotel, perfect location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Lovely greeting by friendly staff. Excellent room. Love the whole feeling of this hotel. We stay here regularly when coming back to our favourite city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel close to train station

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: They give you free drinks and chocolate in the mini bar!
Location: The shopping area around Eldon Square is only about a 5-minute walk away. The waterfront is only about 15 minutes away. Good as a jumping off point.
This hotel is only about a minute from the train station, making it very comfortable. I found the bed comfortable and the room was clean and relaxing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Centrally located hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Relaxed atmosphere. Worth a four star rating.
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms
Location: Central point for shopping, bars, tours, etc.
Enjoyed our stay at the Royal Station Hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. No air conditioning in room, however the room was clean and contained all the facilities one required. The spa and swimming pool are not located within the hotel, but adjacent to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great stay

Posted Jul 19, 2014
the hotel was great in all aspects. I will be back again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mixed feelings!

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Pros: Lobby very well presented. Staff seemed lovely.
Cons: Air con. The comfort of the room is putting a big question mark over whether I will return to this hotel
The Room was quite hot and stuffy. I opened the window to get some air and was kept awake throughout the night by noise from the station. Struggled to get into the room with my suitcase, as the bed was very close to the door - I had to use the door to move the bed to get in. Although I didn't use the gym/swimming pool I was pleased to find that this was included in the price of my stay. The room had a few complimentary drinks and two kit Kat's waiting for me in the mini fridge, which was certainly a nice touch (even better if they were replenished!)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Average hotel in Newcastle

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Room was at the top of the building in the former attic. It overlooked the station which meant there was station noise from early. Bathroom was OK, although the shower power was weak & towels small. The complimentary supplies in the fridge was a nice touch even if all I had was some water. Didn't stop to have breakfast which at £9.60 was a bit steep.