Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Annjennfrom Manchester

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
After driving for 4 hours, we arrived at the hotel only to find it closed!! After several telephone calls a member of staff appeared on the car park and asked if we were ok? I explained we had a booking and she said oh we close from 3pm until 5.30pm but I will show you your room. We asked if we could get a drink or something to eat and she no sorry not until the opening time!!! No even for residents!! We had to drive to another village 4miles away. On our return from a wedding reception around 11.30pm we were again told that the bar was closed and we couldn't be served. The room was ok , but the bathroom was of a very poor standard and the floor was dirty, there is no way this hotel should have a four star rating, I wouldn't stay again!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by itsjustaridefrom Ayrshire

Lovely village pub/hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
A little out of the way but a lovely location nonetheless. Rooms were very comfortable, mine lacked a shower but the bath was very relaxing. Staff were friendly and welcoming and even helped me source some dinner as I'd booked to stay on a bank holiday and the kitchen was closed on my arrival. About 20 mins from Newcastle, would definitely stay there again if I didn't need to be in the town itself... much nicer than a city hotel for the money.
2 out of 5
by Billfrom France

Good and Bad

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was really good and staff were friendly
Cons: The manager / owner need to take responsibility for lack of organisation and staff training. This could be great place to stay but needs organising
Location: Small village - no amenities. Great for walking and cycling. Handy for Newcastle Airport (15 minutes)
First the good bits. The restaurant serves good pub-food, nothing special but good. Breakfasts are great and the staff are friendly locals. The double rooms are big and clean, if a little dated. If it was a country pub it would be fine, but as a hotel it needs a lot more organisation and training. I stayed from Saturday to Sunday and then from Thursday to the following Saturday. I asked for breakfast on Sunday at 9.00 am. Came down at 8.55 am and the bar and restaurant were locked and in darkness. Another couple staying had asked for breakfast at 8.00am because they had a long car journey and were livid. The duty-manager came sauntering down the road at 9.00am and didn't seem to understand why people were angry. Nothing was set up for breakfast - no juice, no cereals, no milk, no crockery - it was a shambles. Arriving back on the Thurday at 4.45 pm, the whole place was locked up - nobody around. (The expedia site states check-in is from 3.00 pm to 9.00 pm). So had to sit outside like a lemon until someone turned up at 5.30 pm. I was told that I would have to change rooms for the Friday night of my stay and move from a double to a single because the place was fully booked for people attending a wedding party on the Saturday nearby. I didn't mind particularly, but when I woke up Saturday morning to find that my car was the only one in the car-park and that there was one table set for breakfast, I was a bit miffed, to say the least. OK, people sometimes don't turn up, but some
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business userfrom North yorkshire

Nice location

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Shame the room did not have a shower. Otherwise hotel was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a chain

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: The peace and quiet and the location. Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: Needs showers over baths and just a little 'spruce up'.
Location: Situated in a small village just outside Newcastle so it's more of a place to un-wind and relax with no distractions.
Good welcome by staff and they remembered me from a previous visit. Good food well cooked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kevinfrom sawbridgeworth

Convenient place to stay

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Staff friendliness
Cons: The bathroom
Location: Hexham races were 30 mins away
Very nice hotel out in the country. The room was adequate and the hotel staff were excellent. The only downside was the the bathroom requires some modernisation . We would definite use the hotel,again if we were visiting the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by AVKfrom BLACKBURN

Helpful staff, comfy beds, peaceful location

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Only visiting for one night but I was very happy with this hotel. Staff were polite and helpful. The room was clean, nicely decorated and bed comfortable. Breakfast was very good and served quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by SHfrom Glasgow

Lovely location

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Inn is in a lovely quiet village, but only a short distance from newcastle itself. The room was very spacious and comfortable. What was missing was attention to detail - it was generally clean but the remote control and lamp were dusty and there were crumbs on the carpet. There was no shower? We were left clean towels on the second day (not really necessary) but the used ones were left in the bathroom. The food was very good. A few small changes and this would be worth the money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Stufrom Ripon

Great location,

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very helpful, only down fall was no shower in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

nice stay, clean with friendly staff

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great rooms and nice pub with decent food. Enjoyed our stay and would visit again.