Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melton Mowbray

Friendly, relaxing, excellent food, v comfortable

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Excellent country pub with superb atmosphere and restaurant facilities, comfortable and spacious accommodation in a quiet, convenient village location
Cons: Details on website could outline opening times, hairdryers available in rooms, unrestricted, free parking at front of premises & other selling points
Location: On the western bank of the River Severn and the edge of the beautiful Forest of Dean, close to Ross-on-Wye, Gloucester and Monmouth.
This was a late booking in August '14 - good reviews, so we thought "Why not?". We were certainly not disappointed. The staff were, without exception, welcoming, friendly, and nothing was too much trouble throughout our all-too-brief stay. Our room was spacious and very comfortable, and parking on the side road at the front was both charge and problem-free. But above all else was the food. This was locally sourced, herbs straight from the rear garden, and one reason we'll be going back. The home-made burgers were as good as we've sampled anywhere, the home-made ice creams were pure delight, and breakfast the following morning just the way a full-English should be. If this was close to home, we'd be regulars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Ideal for the Bore

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: It's friendly staff,quietness &proximity to the river to see the Bore
Cons: This hotel has character being in an old village so little improvements needed.
Location: Well placed to visit Gloucester,dean Forest Railway &Forest of Dean,Lydney &Harbour,Westbury Court Garden(NTRUST)Tintern Abbey &River Wye.
We chose to stay here as we wanted to see the Severn Bore in an evening & the following morning.It is ideally suited for this purpose.The room we had was very spacious,with a very comfy bed & lots of tea/coffee provided.The en suite was clean with plenty of towels &toiletries.Breakfast was excellent,freshly cooked food with lots of coffee which set us up for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, Wa

Charming B & B

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Located in a beautiful village, The Ship Inn exudes warmth and hospitality. The bar and restaurant serves top notch foods and drinks including a delicious full English breakfast. A delightful place to stop and relax while visiting the Cotswold's.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Chislehurst, Kent

Lovely stay, would recommend

Posted Sep 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed just for the one night, had dinner and breakfast in the hotel which were both delicious. The owners are lovely. The pump on the loo in room 1 is a bit irritating and shower could do with more oomph - absolutely minor things! Would suggest a bigger TV being put in room as it's a good size room and quite hard to see (read graphics) from the bed. Would recommend to anyone in that area - lovely little village and friendly chatty locals!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by severn surfer from winchester

Comfy beds, good burgers, amazing ice cream!

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
For Severn Bore surfers this is the perfect place. A very short walk to the river, very accommodating owners who let us store our surf equipment in the barn, and provided a hose pipe to wash off all the mud. The burgers and steaks were really good and the homemade ice cream out of this world!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by C stamp from Exeter

Almost perfect

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Pity about the toilet system in room 1, made a noise every hour, I would have complained if staying more then 1 night. Comply bed, nice room, good breakfast pity about the loo!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MikeBBB from Nottingham

Very friendly, good value pub in lovely village

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at The Ship last weekend. It is a very friendly and popular village local which offers well-kept beer and great value, homemade food, including a range of designer burgers. Our room above the bar was comfortable and well appointed. We would stay again if down this way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SandyT from Scotland

Good Food and Friandly

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed every minute, much more personal than the big Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The UK needs more places like this

Posted Mar 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Owners were really friendly. Food was amazing. The local ale they serve was one of the best I've ever tried. We really need more places like this in the UK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Paul

Really nice.

Posted Feb 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely place and nice people. Breakfast might be a bit late for an early starter but wasn't a problem for us. Lovely breakfast in actual fact.