Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Facility location room rest and pool area
My past stays I found the staff excellent This time not so much. I stayed in 403 this is the area were the pool staff used as valet parking called for ice at 4pm received at 5 called for a new coffee pot did not receive in general staff did not seem to care
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An amazing two nights at Pelican Hill

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: It is beautiful, and staff are amazing. I left my flatiron on property, called and a staff memberl emailed it was fed-exed back today.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: No need to leave the property.
What a beautiful property. The ocean view bungalows; Andrea's restaurant, spa services, room service/breakfast on the veranda and car service to and from the hotel from your bungalow. All stress removed and luxury provided.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Awesome!

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Pelican Hill is a hidden gem, my wife and I stay at Ritz Carltons, Fairmonts and Four Season resorts and Pelican Hill ranks at or above any of them. The accomodations were excellent as was the service and food. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Stunning Roman Architecture

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Setting, Style and Staff
Cons: Insects coming in under door
Location: Newport Beach, South Coast Mall, 40 mins to Disney, 90 mins to San Deigo.
Okay, usually the Americans do tacky architecture with emphasis on scale rather than style. This resort is rather magnificent in all ways. Built and owned by major local commercial developers it is no-doubt a vanity project first and foremost. Who cares!! It is truly first class. Especially the main entrance and coliseum area. We stayed in a one room bungalow with pleasant views of the gardens and the ocean, (about 2 miles inland but elevated). The furnishings and equipment were excellent. All the staff we came in contact with highly professional whilst friendly and sincere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pasadena, CA

Beautiful Resort

Posted Nov 1, 2014
The bungalow rooms are very large and beautifully appointed. The food in the restaurants is delicious. Everything was wonderful. The only thing that I think could be improved is the access to a live person on the phone. If you call the main number, it is not unusual to be put into voicemail. They do return your call but it is not very prompt. Another example: I called the hospitality service number to find out about the yoga classes and the access to the beach for the following morning. Again, I had to leave a message. No one ever called me back. this is poor guest service for a five-star resort. Otherwise, it's fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Tolles Hotel auf einem Hügel mit Blick zum Meer

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Poolbereich
Cons: Service an den Reception Desks
Leider war der Check - in Service bzw. das Umbuchen/ Verlängern mit ziemlichen Wartezeiten und Formalien verbunden. Ein Hotel dieser Preiskategorie sollte das besser im Griff haben ( viele untrainierte (neue?) Mitarbeiter im Desk Bereich). Wechsel der Zimmer schlecht organisiert. Die beiden Pools mit Blick sind absolute Spitzenklasse! Service der Mitarbeiter (z.B. Concierge ) : sehr hilfsbereit !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Glendale, CA

Beautiful resort that overlooks the ocean.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: The beauty of the resort. Every part of the resort was well designed - beautiful architecture, interior design and landscaping.
Location: The location is on a hill in Newport Beach that overlooks the ocean. Crystal Cove state park is just down the hill. Laguna Beach is just 10 mins away.
The resort is first class and the staff is very friendly and helpful. This was a beautiful place to stay and unwind. Gorgeous views of the ocean and wonderful food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quick stay after Disneyland

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: Service, location, everything!
Great experience - excellent location and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with an amazing pool and great food.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The rooms, food and pool are great!!!
Cons: Spiders in room. It was our 10 yr anniversary & we had 3 spiders crawling around & a big web above the bed. Wife freaked out. I got rid of them myself
Location: great location
Really enjoyed our time at this resort. Most of our time was spent relaxing poolside, which was perfect!!! The food is amazing as well!!! I stay here about once a year. This is the first time our room was not ready for us when we got there (3pm) and they would not allow us a late check out either. I found three spiders crawling around in our room, I got rid of them myself. It seems like the resort is a lot busier now days and they are letting a lot of the little things side. Still a great place to stay, just bummed it's not as good as it used to be. I'll probably try Montage next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com