Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

Good place to stay overnight

Posted Jul 15, 2014
We stayed at Ambassador Inn because we went to a wedding in Newport and since the reception began at 7PM and we were not going to spend any time there except to sleep, we felt it was silly to stay in Newport where the room rates are extremely high. Our room at the Ambassador Inn was spacious with two full beds which were very clean and comfortable. The air conditioner was quiet and functioned very well. Although the bathroom was quite small, it was clean and had a very good shower stream. The continental breakfast was all we needed to start the day. All in all, we enjoyed our short stay and would stay there again in the same circumstances.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Overall appearance, and breakfast.
Location: Newport is a short drive.
Hotel was generally pretty clean, but short of expectations as compared to Hampton's or Holiday Inn Express.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ct

enconomical but smelly

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Room and hallways had musty mildews smell beds very soft and pillows mushy no neck support
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JohnMark from Stratford, CT

Hotel is convenient to town.

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: It was close to town
Cons: The bathroom and the water pressure
Location: We were able to get to town within 5-10 minutes. There are plenty of shops to visit and GREAT restaurants.
The hotel was pleasant enough but if I was staying for more than one night I would have chosen another hotel. Although it was clean, the bathroom wasn't very appealing and the water pressure was horrible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted May 30, 2014
Great location, quiet, will come again and again . Coffee is ok.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Will do in a pinch

Posted May 19, 2014
The positves- a friendly staff, cost, location. Now the negatives- the rooms could be cleaned a bit better. One of the beds had sheets that did jot appear to have been washed. No issue with the other bed so I chose to sleep on that one, Lol. Bathroom outdated, dark and could use some attention. Hallway carpet very dirty. Bottom line- will do in a pinch. I knew going in it wasn't a five star hotel, and overall for the money, not that bad except for the issues mentioned above.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new Rochelle, ny

Posted May 4, 2014
Cons: Internet wifi to slow
Location: Lots of place to eat and if you need some thing well have stop shop just cross , and some store to shopping as well
Well the hotel was ok for night , stai g but internet very slow sometime froze , very quiet place good recomend .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Lisbon, CT

decent hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: Had balcony on top floor. Rooms are very large.
Location: Near downtown Newport.
First appearance lobby is kept clean. Rooms are clean, updated and comfortable. I have read some of the previous reviews and I think some people are way to picky. For the price it's a good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Complimentary breakfast was anything but....

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable beds and spacious rooms
Cons: Breakfast
I have stayed here in the past, and there were only a few other rooms that seemed to be occupied. I was very disappointed to see what was offered for breakfast. A few pieces of bread, a couple danish, cereal. They had a waffle maker, but no waffle mix. Not appealing at all. Some fresh fruit would have been nice or yogurt. They didn't seem to make it a priority with only a few rooms filled. Also, a musty smell as you walk into lobby. I have been going here for almost 2 years when I come to the area and for some reason the smell lingers. The rooms however, make up for the other issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by deb from ct

Great price

Posted Apr 4, 2014
I just stayed for a quick overnighter, arriving late and leaving early so had few needs of amenities. The room was pleasant, bed and linens comfortable and clean. The bathroom looked new. Black out curtains, quiet heater.The staff was helpful and nice. Parking lot well lit. I have no complaints to report.