Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Old Lyme, CT

Nice hotel, great location, convenient parking

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: The location is right downtown. Close to Brick Alley Pub (great restaurant) and convenient to all of the shops. We walked everywhere.
I took my daughter to Newport for a last minute overnight trip. Not really knowing the area, I was a bit worried to just pick a random place, however, after reading the reviews, I decided on the America's Cup Inn. We had a great time. The place was conveniently located, very clean, friendly staff and convenient parking. The parking lot also allows you to come and go which, even though we didn't, was a nice extra. Your staff included a continental breakfast which was delicious. Many, many choices to choose from. I would go back again and would recommend this place to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Location was exactly where we needed.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Cons: Wireless was not working in the cottage but his was not an issue for us.
Location: Located right on Thames St. Lots of shopping and dining options.
We were in Newport to see Bill Cosby and we wanted to stay overnight and walk to the show. The Inn was quite clean and comfortable. We would not hesitate to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Massachusetts

Perfect location!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Location....location...location. And the staff was very friendly.
Cons: Minor improvement of maybe some shelving near sink for toiletries.
Location: The inn is at the perfect location on Thames. A room on the 3rd or 4th floors gets you above any street noise.
We spent a weekend at the inn, staying in a room with 2 double beds. The location on Thames is perfect! The staff at the inn was pleasant and helpful. We normally stay in condos or suites, so we found the inn room a bit small, but it was fine for sleeping, as we were only at the inn to sleep. The bathroom was a bit tight, and there isn't really any place to put your toiletries, but it was workable. The breakfast was delicious! Fresh fruit and a wide variety of pastries served in an adorable sitting room with plenty of tables and space for guests. Hot food needs to be re-heated, such as waffles, but my daughters said their re-heated food was find. Parking is across the street, for a fee, but you have in-and-out privileges. The only drawback is on a crowded, summer weekend, spots aren't always available. If you enter the lot through Mary St., the attendant will often let you in to find a spot even if the sign says 'full'. Turn-over is pretty quick, and when this happened to us, it was less than a 5 minute wait before someone pulled out of the spot. But, because the inn is so close to everything, you can park and not have to leave if you don't want to. The mansions are even walkable, if you don't mind about a 30 minute walk through some gorgeous neighborhoods. Eat at Pasta Beach on Memorial, or if you are their in the summer/fall, eat at the SmokeHouse at Scott's Wharf! Both are awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dunstable, MA

Fine and Dandy

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: location, staff, clean, all basic needs are met!
Cons: Decor needs updating, breakfast/tea room needs work and a better lay out. Maybe update the key system?
Location: 3 Minute walk to waterfront, Plenty of night life, food, nearby. Not very close to beaches.
I traveled to Newport to do research on a church. The America's Cup was a delight. SImple, clean, and within walking distance to downtown, which made it a great location for me. A discounted parking lot is across the street. It is small but the rooms are fine, although a bit floral for my taste. But who cares about wallpaper when you are greeted with a smile, a clean room and very comfortable beds. The breakfast/tea room needs some TLC and there is a lot of jostling in the morning since the free breakfast attracts a crowd. However, it's a decent spread with plenty of choices. Just be prepared for a little confusion and elbowing! I enjoyed my stay and would come here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricey for what you get...

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Convenient in-town location, pleasant staff
Cons: Rooms are in need of an uodate.
The inn is located in a great (albeit densely packed) location off of Thames, close to restaurants, shops, wharfs etc.. We stayed at an annex to the main inn right up the block. Staff was pleasant and helpful but the accommodations, while clean, are getting fairly tired, particularly at this price range. Had the sensation I was in an elderly efficiency apartment as opposed to an upscale inn. Would probably look to do something cheaper next time around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel/Perfect location

Posted Jul 31, 2014
The hotel itself was adorable, clean, comfortable and had a lot of character. The location could not have been more perfect,being right in the middle of the town. Sam at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast had a pleasant variety and was never lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
The America Cup is in a great location and it was easy to walk all over the place from there. The staff is very friendly and accommodating!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bicycles are not included as the ad said.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Very tired interior. Needs an extensive renovation.
Location: Rent a scooter and tour the mansions.
The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is amazing. The location is great. Don't get a ground floor room. The building is tired. Our bathtub had a patched hole in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ian from edinburgh

Very friendly proprietor at well located hotel

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Nice big room with effective aircon, bathroom a bit small. Breakfast was really good - great selection of nice things. Roof terrace too, though this was a bit noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bob from Ridgefield, CT

Very good value.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
I have stayed here before. In a very expensive town it is a super value. Great location, very clean and a great free breakfast.