Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2015 
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Theresafrom Melbourne

Fabulous home in a beautiful neighbourhood

Posted Oct 28, 2014 
The service was fabulous, Nick was very welcoming and helpful. Our room was lovely and breakfast was great, something different each day. The hosts knowledge of the area was great it helped us to make the most of our 2 day stay in Newport. I would definitely come back if I was in this part of the world again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A review of 2 halves

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: A lovely building with lots of period features.
Cons: Be clear what is on offer. Meet guests on arrival. Be available at least once a day.
Location: Close to the harbour, the beaches, the 'cottages' and a lovely place just to walk around.
This is a review of two halves. Our initial experience was not good - it took two days before we met either of the hotel owners, and felt abandoned in this large house. There were post-its in several public areas, including requests to remove shoes or polish floors. Our room was awful - a very small room at the top of the house with a bathroom not en-suite, as we had thought, but along the corridor and down some steps. However, when we finally met one of the owners we were made to feel welcome, offered complimentary breakfast for 2 days of our week's stay, and upgraded for two days of the stay into a large and lovely room. So our experience is that if you can afford a better class room, then great, but if not it's probably best not to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful inn, minutes from town center!

Posted May 14, 2014
My fiance and I had a wonderful weekend away at the Architects Inn. The inn itself is beautiful, quiet, and very clean. Our room had a fireplace which made for a romantic feel. Brian and Nick were very gracious hosts. We loved that in less than a 10 minute walk we could quickly get to the restaurants and bars on Broadway. It really is in a fabulous location! We definitely highly recommend this b&b and hope to visit again in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice B&B

Posted Apr 29, 2014 
Nick and Brian made us feel very welcome. We ended up in a room in the basement with a nice fireplace and special shower. They brought breakfast down for us each morning which was s nice touch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by melissafrom Wyckoff NJ

Just a few blocks away

Posted Apr 29, 2014 
Overall our stay was excellent......Nick and Eric were excellent attentive hosts. All the information that Nick gave us about Newport was dead on correct. The restaurants he recommended were perfect for us.....Bravo you guys.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Just the bed, not breakfast

Posted Apr 18, 2014 
Nice room in a good location in a pretty house. But it's not really a B&B as advertised. We presumed that a B&B would have a full breakfast, but were informed that our agent, whatever that means, had indicated we only wanted a continental breakfast. Checking the hotels.com site, there is no clear indication of such a choice. Continental breakfast was a small selection of fruit and some muffins along with coffee, tea, and fruit juices. Disappointing. Also, our room is too cold -- cold yesterday, last night, and this morning. Maybe it will warm up if it gets warmer outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A Merry Christmas

Posted Dec 27, 2013 
We spent the holiday at Architects Inn and it was exactly what we were looking for - beautiful, charming, festive, comfortable and the hosts were lovely.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Richardofrom UK

Owner did his best

Posted Nov 4, 2013 
Had to book in before a certain time which was not mentioned on Hotels.com site.Ended up in a room up a very tall steep flight of stairs. Considering the hotel was empty thought we could of have had a more favourable location. If you are older with big bags check! Room was cold. Again information on Hotels.com site not relayed to hotel informing them we were vegetarians. Owner did his best with short notice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by pamfrom boone, ia

Posted Oct 4, 2013 
Beautiful house in a beautiful neighborhood. Close walk to the waterfront. They have a great book in everyone's room that talks about restaurants and things to do which we found very helpful Unbelievably good breakfast and treats in the afternoon.