Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with service and information provided

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: I liked the amenities in the room and the facilities.
Cons: Staff attention to detail.
We waited about 15 min just to leave our car with valet because he was busy. He gave us no instructions on where to check in except take elevator. In elevator, an employee from food service pushed floor 3 and we told him we wanted to check in. He said he didn't know which floor. So after he got out, we went to floor 1 and stepped out of the elevator with our suitcase. Looked to right and it was the bar & restaurant. Looked to left and there was a desk with a few people standing around. No one offered to help us so we thought we were on the wrong floor. Went back in elevator and people inside the elevator told us that the desk with the laptop on floor 1 was the check in desk. It did not look like a hotel check in area. We thought everyone that was talking was hotel guests, one with their laptop. We went back to floor 1 to check in. We paid for a premium waterview room and got to one with the worst view of the ocean. There was trash left in our room from previous guest. Our fireplace was defective. The last thing that sealed the poor experience was upon checkout - they charged us $57 for "parking". We paid for our rooms on Expedia and nothing was mentioned about a parking fee. We stayed 2 nights and was charged $57. That was outrageous!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Vert nice hotel right on the harbor. Great bar for drinks before and after dinner., although restaurant is a little pricey. Walking distance from eveything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would go back for sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Lacking in some areas

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was kind of disappointed that there was no balcony to sit out as the room was kind of small. Would have liked to have a pool or gym etc. there were no coffee pots in the room nor any coffee in the lobby area visibly available. The hotel was very well maintained and the staff was accommodating and helpful. The customer service rep actually came over in his car to get us to the hotel after we had circled around twice and couldn't locate the entrance of the hotel which is situated back off the main road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Canton

Wedding night

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I gave this stay to my daughter and her new husband for their wedding night. They loved the room and the staff was very accommodating for some wedding pictures.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emil from Sedona, AZ

Upscale hotel right on the water.

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Location, quality of the facility and the quality of the staff and food.
Cons: They tend to have music piped all around the property 18 hours a day. The tone and type of music was not my style and could be toned down.
Location: Right on the pier at Newport, close to a great variety of other restaurants and sightseeing areas.
We had a great experience. The staff was extremely accommodating. We were upgraded to a suite. Don't know why but graciously accepted. I was a bit concerned about the food and staff since other reviews in 2013 took the staff, service and food to task. The hotel explained that they have a new executive chef and new staff team. We were very well treated and all of our requests were positively received. We had cocktails, dinner and breakfast and the food and service was impeccable. I would go back and would recommend this facility for its location, facility high end quality and the gracious and accommodating efforts of the staff and the good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairfield ct

Beautiful in town hotel

Posted May 3, 2014
Beautiful hotel with great outdoor bar. Exceptional restaurant with terrific service. Great walking location. Extra charge for parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by KellyPJ from Westchester County, NY

Room Fell Short

Posted Apr 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel and room - loved that the room had a fireplace! The woman who checked us in was lovely and brought us milk and cookies when we had to have the engineer come to our room twice to get the TV to work - it stopped working just as we were checking out as well. The shade to the one window was broken and one (of the many) shower heads didn't work. But seriously, other than that it was wonderful. The location is perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Laura from CT

Great Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was awesome, loved the view and the fireplace. Very clean, staff was very helpful at making restaurant recommendations. Location was perfect, right on thames street - walking distance to pretty much everything! loved this hotel, would recommend and would definitely go back.