Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jamestown, RI moving to Newport RI

Nice Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: More bacon, Beth.
Location: Mansions, restaurants,
I'm moving out of my house and going south for the winter. My next home, although chosen and reserved, is not yet ready for me to buy. Since my old home is empty, I needed a place to stay for about a week before my flights and chose the Hampton Inn. The room was comfy and the staff friendly. I was out and about each day, living my regular life. The included breakfast was good, but I would have liked bacon, as opposed to sausage, more frequently. The one day it was offered during my stay, it was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Worcester MA

Close to downtown Newport.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Excellent hotel would highly recommend. Good breakfast. Very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey.

Great hotel! Good Price

Posted Nov 4, 2014
The hotel was what I come to expect from Hampton Inns great room and friendly staff. The indoor pool area was very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Convenient to JFK

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and provided helpful information about getting to the airport in time for the flight.
Cons: One towel was very thin. Pillows should be changed to more standard size and thickness (too thick). Wifi needs to be more reliable.
Very easy shuttle bus to terminals (15 minutes). Noise from highway quite loud and constant. We couldn't get the wifi to work at all in our room. I went to the front desk and the guy was friendly but gave me a number to phone to deal with it myself. Pillows too puffy & small= uncomfortable. Breakfast looked ok but we didn't eat as had an early plane to catch. Staff were friendly and helpful (except for the wifi). The lobby and lift smelled a bit like an ashtray. Cheap so if you don't mind this for one night it's not too bad considering how convenient it is to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Newport, RI

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Very pleasant and helpful staff, comfortable room.
Location: The location is in a business district. Not meant for a tourist spot.
Very pleasant staff and accomodations. Breakfast selections had range of fruits, juices, cereals, breads, muffins, oatmeal, hot prepared items, waffles, yogurt, coffee and tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, nice hotel close to Newport.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: The breakfast is very nice and food staff is great. Also, the cleanliness and very good lighting throughout the halls and within the rooms.
Cons: A/C was problem. It could not run the fan continuously with the A/C on; it kept cycling totally on and off. Please bring back thermostat control.
Location: This is a convenient hotel if you are visiting the Newport area and I understand they now offer shuttle service to Newport during the summer months.
We've stayed at this hotel a number of times and always have had a good experience in the past. The staff is friendly and breakfast is very nice. Unfortunately this time the A/C was a bit of a problem because it could not run the fan continuously with the A/C on. In order to run the fan continuously, you had to shut off the A/C. So, with the A/C on, it kept cycling totally on and off frequently (regardless of the temperature setting) all night, which was disturbing to us. They used to have a thermostat control in the rooms that worked well but that has now been disconnected and they went back to this simple on/off system, which is disappointing. I'm guessing that a number of guests couldn't figure out the thermostats and so they disconnected them; not sure. Also, unfortunately the pricing does go up significantly during the main season for an overnight stay, but that is the case with all the surrounding hotels as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

1 mile out of Newport

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Price, location, shuttle, breakfast, wifi, clean rooms.
Cons: Pleasantly perfect.
Location: Newport
We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great price, location, room - free breakfast and wifi! Shuttle to downtown a big plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Great Newport Visit

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location and desk staff.
Cons: Cleaning staff need to pay attention to edge and corners of rugs.
Location: Newport mansions, Block Island, cliff walk and good beaches near by.
Good location, easy to get to downtown Newport, the mansions, Block Island, etc. Staff was very friendly and helpful.