Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

breakfast

Posted Apr 17, 2014
worst breakfast ever at any hotel I ever stayed at
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Short trip into Newport

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Nice pool and hot tub, good temps.
Cons: The walls are pretty thin, you can easily hear conversations in the next rooms over.
Location: There is a really nice 3-mile long cliff walk just a couple of miles away, as well as a tour of the area mansions, and outlets along the wharf.
We paid $67 for a Saturday night in a 2-queen bed room, cable, wifi, microwave, fridge, etc. within a 10-minute drive to downtown Newport. The room was clean (slight chemical smell upon arrival that didn't stick, probably due to pet-friendly nature of hotel), and pretty comfortable. My only complaint was that the thermostat was pretty inaccurate which meant the temperature was never quite right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from RI

Perfect location

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Room was clean and staff was very nice, hotel is very close to many things in the Middletown Newport area
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We like this hotel because it is near Sachuest NWR

Posted Mar 15, 2014
The reason we stay here is because we photograph birds on the weekend at Sachuest National Wildlife Refuge in Middletown, RI. After a long day of standing outside in the cold it was nice to be able to soak in a jacuzzi. The room was comfortable and I like that you have a desk and a couple of chairs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for the price

Posted Feb 16, 2014
We had to book our hotel last minute. We got a great price and the hotel was a lot nicer then we expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Howard Johnson's Newport RI

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Personal control of the room temperature
Cons: breakfast needs to be more than muffins and fruit
Location: Newport has incredible old mansions and of course, the waterfront.
I had not stayed in a HoJo in about 30 years. Was surprised that it is no better and no worse than any others. On this trip I specifically wanted a hot tub and breakfast. The hot tub was great; breakfast not so much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tiffany from South Coast, MA

Ease of stay

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: stayed in a pet-friendly room, found to be clean and comfy!
Hotel staff was warm and welcoming, easing to check in and check out, quality vs price was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne from San Francisco

Beautiful facilities

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent value. Beautiful pool, sauna and hot tub. Central to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by pease

difficult to find

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was more than adequate for us. Location was exceedingly hard to find at dusk as sign is partially obscured & many signs in vicinity are bigger & better lit. Neighborhood ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014