Ratings based on 489 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Room needs a few updates and fresh paint. Bathroom sliding door really uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting. Close to everything

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Shuttle to downtown Newport was a help. right over the Newport bridge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york, ny

Extremely poor service

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Only positive is the location. Front desk was very rude. Gave us a basement room with no view. We had to really speak to staff member after staff member to get a different room. They commented that nothing is guaranteed when you book from Expedia. Monday morning, they decide to change hallway carpet at 7am. Not able to sleep at all. This was not what I expected from a Hyatt facilty. Awful, they should take notes from Castle Hill as we spent out time there. Thanks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Check in and check out took way longer than it had to. Seemed like everyone in line needed to get up there to complain about something and get their moneys worth. This made the line take forever. People need to understand the higher end price you pay is for the location. The room and everything was nice but nothing crazy. I think it must have been built or reactivated in the 80's with top of the line everything and then not really updated since then. Only other complaint was the weird family to party ratio. I would be in my room and hear kids yelling and then would walk into the hallway and smell weed. It was a little weird and the paper thin walls didn't help the weird atmosphere. None the less, this was a nice place with everything satisfying to me other then what I had mentioned.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Front desk person needs attitude adjustment

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Breakfast buffet was excellent.
Cons: Front desk staff. If you hate your job so much please find a new line of work.
Location: Water taxi to Newport.
The Good: Hotel room was clean Breakfast buffet was excellent Great location in Newport Complementary water taxi to downtown newport The bad: Front desk lady was in bad mood when we got there. Any question I asked was met with sarcastic look and response. When I walked off to the elevators she told me they were the other way, wouldn't that have been a nice thing to tell a guests when they check-in? Bad first impression. The Room: Overlooked a parking garage where we could hear the valets talking into the night. Disappointing. Cost: I guess the can inflate prices due to the area and demand in the summer. Not worth what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Great setting. Not great exterior design for rooms (institutional look). Nice room w beautiful view. TV didn't work.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Fire the Chef

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: The concierge, Grace was very nice and helpful.
Cons: Fire the chef. Do something to improve the noise levels. We heard normal level conversations word for word in the neighboring rooms.
Location: The views are nice, and it is very walkable to the town.
We stayed 4 nights here. Unfortunately, upon our arrival 4 of the pillowcases were stained (probably from some type of makeup). They weren't dirty -- just stained in several spots. Then we noticed one sheet was similarly stained. Upon our request they changed the bedding. There was a nice note in the room advising us of some amenities that were available like shampoos, irons, phone chargers etc... One said, "foam pillows." We thought this meant memory foam. Actually they brought us 2 pillows, but they were hypoallergenic, not foam, as we thought. Again disappointing. We went to breakfast for which we had vouchers for each day of our stay. We chose the buffet. The scrambled eggs were sopping in butter and they tasted disgusting. The small frittatas were inedible. They tasted like cardboard. The French toast on the 2nd day was not cooked all the way through and the bread was dry in the middle. When the waitress went to pour our coffee, the inside of the cup was dirty. We ate there 2 mornings, but by the 3rd morning we tore up the vouchers and ate at Panera and Starbucks. The noise level was startling. On one side of the room we heard our neighbor snoring and on the other we heard someone wake up with an asthma attack. We heard the entire conversation in the middle of the night. Each one of these things in and of itself was not terrible, but taken in its' entirety it was very disappointing given the close to $500 per night rate. I would chose another hotel next time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by derek from Boston

Overpriced, understaffed, and disappointing.

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
Our original room was in the basement, at the bottom of a dirty stairwell. However, the hotel did promptly accommodate our request for a change. Unfortunately, the rest of the hotel was outdated, a bit dusty, and seemed understaffed. Transportation options were limited and inconvenient, and when we contacted the concierge to learn about our taxi options, one number she gave was out of service, and the other was located outside of Newport, and had no available cabs. The concierge then said, "we have Uber"...but doesn't everybody? There is also a surprise $20 resort fee that they don't tell you about on Hotels.com, and this essentially gets you nothing, since the "transportation options" are sparse and inconvenient (the fee ostensibly pays for a shuttle service that runs only once every half hour) and parking (which is free for guests anyway). We were disappointed at the lack of value. The amount we paid could easily have gotten us a more comfortable and accommodating B&B, or a location more easily accessible to the city. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody. Save money and stay at a Holiday Inn, etc...it is essentially the same quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel & very friendly staff

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Loved the walking distance to Newport. Hotel offers shuttles, but too nice out to take advantage of that offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Der Zimmerkomfort ist hervorragend und der morgendliche Ausblick auf das Wasser
Location: Direkt am Wasser, ein wunderschöner Ausblick
Es waren wunderschöne Teppiche in den Zimmern, bequeme Betten und ein wunderschöner Ausblick am Morgen auf das Wasser.