Ratings based on 439 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom PA

Disappointing

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Location on Goat Island
Cons: At the rate you pay there should be no substandard rooms. Or there should be a warning (and steep discount) for such rooms!
Location: Located in Newport but it is a long walk across a bridge to the town center. Probably a very nice walk in the summer but any other time...
We were booked into a room across from the elevators, the room was cold, drafty and the position of the heating/air conditioner duct was such that air blew across the head of the beds - it felt like a hair drier blowing on our heads all night. When we complained in the morning we were re-located into another much better room and given comp vouchers for the breakfast. When we went to use them there was a 15-20 minute wait to be seated! On the positive side, the staff were very courteous and accommodating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Western PA

Excellent hotel on the water.

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The hotel is on a small island in Narragansett Bay off of downtown Newport.
Cons: The roadway to the hotel could be smoothed out.
Location: Downtown Newport is a vibrant area and within a long walk of the hotel.
For the second year in a row I have spent Christmas Eve and Christmas at the Hyatt Regency Newport while visiting family on Aquidneck Island. The hotel has been consistently clean and warmly appointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Everything. The staff are great, the location is wonderful, Newport is always fun to visit.
We have stayed at this hotel 3 or 4 times and return because we really like the hotel and the staff. The hotel restaurants are excellent, so you don't even have to travel to one of many, many excellent restaurants in Newport. This time we stayed longer than usual, and we came away feeling really rested and relaxed. Being in Newport, even in off-season, you feel that you are in a resort destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom nj

hyatt regency

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: everything
Location: visit mansions,boat tours,shopping,restaurants - all very closeby
clean,very friendly&accomadating,close to all boating&sightseeing attractions.warm&friendly lounge,pool,sauna.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Thanksgiving

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Stood 2 nights for Thanksgiving holiday extremely happy with location, room and staff also shuttle to Newport every half hour on the hour
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom West Haven, CT

Hotel doesn't live up to expectations

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Comfortable bed. Location on water is great. Staff was very helpful.
Cons: Calling the room I had a water view room is outrageous. It was a hotel-view room.
Location: Newport is great!
I booked a room at a very cheap rate (my stay was in November), and was pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a water view room upon checking in. My original room didn't have a shower, so they happily moved me to another room, also a water view room. Unfortunately "water view" is relative. If standing in the room and looking out the window my view was of another wing of the hotel and the roof of another section. I could only see the water if I stood right in front of the window on one side. Then the view was great, but not what I really would consider a water view. The rooms come with a refrigerator, but the noise/buzz the fridge made was so irritating it gave me a horrible headache (even though it "lives" inside a cabinet!), so I had to unplug it. Having a fridge in the room should be a perk, but essentially it was useless. I ordered in-room dining twice. First was for dinner. The serving sizes were large, but the food was overcooked and dry - as if it had been sitting under a warmer for hours. Second was for breakfast - it tasted good, but wasn't really warm and my entire order wasn't originally delivered so I had to call for the rest to come up. Also, the prices are outrageous. The bed was very comfortable and the staff that I dealt with were all very helpful. I should perhaps have complained about the view and noise from the fridge, but I didn't want to make a fuss since it was an upgrade.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Newport. Close to Thames Street.
Location: Close to URI. Many restaurants and bars.
This was our second time in Newport recently. The hotel is nice and well laid out. We got to our room and first noticed to the trash barrel was full. Seeing that upon arrival was a little concerning to say the least. It appeared the room was cleaned and the trash was over looked. Rooms were as advertised. Well planned out. Good size bath. Not crazy about the shower door. Floor was flooded after a shower. Bed was comfortable. It was quiet till the girl next door started singing Christmas carols. Thank god that didn't last to long. She really should quit her day job. All in all it was a good visit. The employees couldn't have been more helpful. Thanks for a good visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs a makeover

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and the exercise room was very nice.
Cons: The room was cold with very few covers. It also needed updating.
Location: Good location within walking distance to town.
The hotel was supposed to be a 4-star hotel and it was more like a 3 star!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mariefrom Pittstown, NJ

Great Choice

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hyatt, Newport, is a great place to stay. Our room overlooking the water was very inviting, the shuttle schedule to and from town is very accommodating. The on-site parking is easy and convenient. The entire staff from the moment you walk in the door is very cordial and helpful. We plan to return to Newport and would stay at the Hyatt again.