Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cynthia from Long Island, NY

Close to town; shuttle available too.

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Not too big. Staff was exceptionally cheerful. From the front desk to the restaurant staff, they were all very pleseant !
Cons: Rooms, (especially bathroom) are a bit tight. Other than that, fine.
Location: Plenty of things to do in the Newport area. There are beaches, walks, mansions, shopping, museams, pubs, dining experiences, excursions, etc.
Had a wonderful experience in this Hyatt. Hotel was not too big and has a wonderful staff. Rooms very clean, updated, ample, comfortable beds, wi-fi,etc. Grounds were beautiful, situated on waterfront. Plenty of seating with stunning water views. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Connecticut

Beautiful location, SUPERB Staff!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Hospitality was outstanding. Beautiful location.
Location: Great town to walk around, especially Thames Street. GREAT little Pottery store on the left side of the street, especially!
My family and I had an incredible stay at the hotel. Our stay was outstanding from the first. Andre at Check In was beyond helpful. I cannot say enough how accommodating and welcoming he made us all feel. Even though it was a busy time at the hotel, everyone we ran in to was pleasant and so helpful. Our waitress, Joanne (I believe?), although it was very busy in the dining area, she took care of us, kept up on our needs and did a great job. Scott, chatted with us later in the evening and provided great suggestions for activities for all of us the next day to do around Newport. Thank You! Rhett, the bartender, continued the excellent service. Thank you all for making a wonderful stay for us, we will most certainly be back! You can wager ;) on it. You all deserve it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: Views, room, restaurant (though a bit pricey)
Didn't expect the nice roomy room with a great bay view. Staff is excellent, very helpful. Although the hotel was booked solid, they accommodated a later checkout so i could finish my conference call. We stayed only one night on our way to a conference, but the wife wants to go back for a longer stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay and location was good.

Posted Feb 22, 2014
Pros: location and room clealeness
Cons: Free coffee and tea in the lobby.
Location: shopping and great resaruants.
Just a 2 night getaway, and the town could do better on deiceing the walk ways. Fell and hurt my foot really bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location , but...

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Great location, friendly staff, temp in room was set to 82 degrees when we arrived, bed mattress was hard and uneven, long lines at breakfast.... 45 min wait. I'll try another hotel in Newport next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennie from Narragansett, RI

Early Valentine's Gift

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: A whirlpool in the pool area would be nice.
Location: Newport is a wonderful city, filled with a rich history and exquisite architecture! The Atlantic is so beautiful and relaxing, even in the winter.
My husband surprised me with an early Valentine's gift by booking 2 nights at the Hyatt on Goat Island in Newport, RI. I can't say enough about the staff: they were great! Very friendly, helpful and very professional, too. The only slight disappointment, there was no whirlpool in the pool area. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by James from Boston ma

Outstanding runaway spot

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Location: Views form all three sides of the bay or the Bridge
The staff was fantastic,Anything I needed was right there,Very clean rooms and overall the best place to stay in newport RI
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Newport Hyatt - Nicely Renovated

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Great room, great price.
Cons: Table service at breakfast was a little slow.
Location: Very centrally located to Newport.
My wife and I were looking for an inexpensive place to stay in Newport in January. The Hyatt was very-well priced, and in fact we were upgraded for free to a top-floor waterview room. Very nice. Room was very modern with a very comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. Our only - very minor - complaint was that service was a little slow/not coordinated at breakfast, but the food itself was terrific.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris

Great place to stay.

Posted Jan 25, 2014
Great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Attending our son wedding

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: refrigerator did not get cold