Ratings based on 378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE Conn

Out of the bustle but right in the thick of things

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Hotel was great. It is out of the main drag downtown but an easy walk or you can use the water taxi or shuttle to get to "downtown". Staff was superb. Smart and helpful without exception. Did not have the beat-down look of many establishments late in the season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Beautiful hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
We were upgraded to water view on checking in. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

LOVE THIS PLACE !!!!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Outside saltwater pool
Cons: Not a thing :)
Location: Free shuttle every half hour to shopping district and great resturants
Wonderful hotel , staff , grounds and room... Never any complaints when we visit the Hyatt ...Weather was beautiful and able to enjoy salt water outdoor pool to the fullest ..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Basking Ridge, NJ

Great location and facilities

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Resort grounds are beautiful, staff, and large, clean, well appointed rooms.
Location: Just a short walk or shuttle ride to the center of Newport.
OK, so maybe coming from the NY metro area we don't expect much in the way of friendliness, but this resort proved us wrong. The resort is located on Goat Island, a short walk or shuttle ride to the center of Newport. You are greeted as soon as you pull your car in, and help is there to carry luggage or load-unload your car. Check in was simple and friendly with alot of information offered resort activities and transportation to town. Shuttles ran every 15 minutes. Each staff member we encountered went out of their way to please us. My husband left a sweater in our room, and they Fed Exed it back with no problem. The room was clean and spacious enough for three adults (king and queen pullout), and the bathroom large and clean. The grounds are well tended, pool area beautiful, and plenty of Adirondack chairs throughout the property for relaxation and enjoying the stunning views. Don't miss out on the Smores in the evening around the fire!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The staff was extremely polite and helpful.
Cons: Improve waiting time for room assignment and improve housekeeping.
The hotel was ok, but expected more from a Hyatt. The hotel was overbooked and there was a lot of people waiting for room assignments including us. The woman at the front desk wrote the wrong room # on the holder on the key card and we almost walked in on the occupants of the room. Once the mixed was cleared up, we realized the room assigned to us was a handicap room, which was ok but I wasn't thrilled. Housekeeping didn't really clean the room well and there was one day the room wasn't clean until 5:00 pm. Overall the staff was extremely polite and helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bucks County, Pa

Newport bound!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Exterior walkway along Bay and the Lighthouse.
Cons: More power sources in the rooms.
Location: Newport is and always will be a place like no other!!
Overall the hotel location and grounds were great. The room lacked sufficient power sources for a family of four given the need to charge electronic devices these days. Breakfast was very disappointing - not something I would expect in a hotel at close to $300 per night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Very beautiful location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location and views
Cons: Rooms and reception
Location: Good location as it is 10m walking from downtown NewPort and the Hotel has a nice shuttle buses every 30m. NewPort is a beautiful town
However the room was small with terrible quality of the beds (for the huge price we paid), the access to the rooms unacceptable (no elevators and stairs, and had to walk through the inside pool). The lobby and the outside parking arrival was a mess. The furniture of the outside terrace was a total disorder, and no one was looking after it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
This was our first time in Newport. The hotel location was perfect. It is a kids friendly hotel, that provides some activities for kids to do, including movie under the stars. The rooms are average. The ac fan system is very loud which made it difficult to get a good night sleep. The bathroom tub/shower was a little dangerous since it was really high to get in and out and not handles for support. I would give it 3 ⭐️⭐️⭐️
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views and very close to the hub of Newport

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Beautiful views of the harbor, the city and the bridge. Resort-like and so close to the town but very secluded. Staff was extremely accommodation and friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Great location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Breakfast prices
The location of this hotel was really great. The room was comfortable. However, their prices for breakfast were way excessive and that prompted us to eat at a different location.