Ratings based on 1,506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, Ma

Great Location

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Staff was friendly, easy check in and check out. 24 hour desk service. Room was clean.
Cons: Hotel could use updating.
Nice location across the street from Newport Grand Slots. Close to downtown and tourist sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Connecticut

Affordable & convenient Newport accommodation

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Cons: The lobby and halls could use a face lift. Key card locks were consistently a challenge. The bathroom exhaust fan was very noisy
Location: Location is perfect! The parking and shuttle service are super valuable in Newport.
This comfortable facility with easy RT 138 access from Newport bridge and ample free parking offers shuttle to waterfront and downtown area but somewhat shows its age. The restaurant / bar area is casually elegant. It's menu is quite eclectic and offers a wide range of price options. I found the quality of food and service for both breakfast and dinner to be excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Nice place

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Awesome! Nice place, nice people, good attention and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Puerto Rico

Excelent!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
I have a nice experience, including restaurant...mmm so good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York State

Always enjoy my stay

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: It is convenient to all Newport locations. It is neat and comfortable.
Cons: Soundproof your walls!!!
Location: Many things to do year round!
The room was very clean and comfortable. The one thing that I did not like is that there was a party Saturday night at the restaurant located within the complex. The played the music very loudly till at least 11:30pm. At that time, fortunately I fell asleep. They either need to work on soundproofing the walls between the restaurant and hotel rooms or have a time when they cannot play the music as loud. The music kept me awake a lot longer then I wanted to stay up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Nice place to stay.

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Clean confortable rooms, Friendly staff.
Cons: Carpets and smell at the stairway.
Location: Good!
We liked, nice clean confortable rooms, friendly staff...Good location. Pleasant experience. Recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Bed!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Hands down the unbelievably comfortable bed.
Cons: I hate when hotels don't have mini fridges. Where do you put your leftovers?
Location: Location was not far from downtown or highways. It was close enough to uber or drive but far enough outside of downtown to keep a fair price point.
We were looking for an inexpensive, no frills hotel. Mainstay was exactly that. I didn't have high expectations given the price point. We were pleasantly surprised to find a clean room with an AMAZING bed. We never wanted to get out of the bed. Everything else, eh, nothing exciting, but that is what our intentions were. What a nice surprise to have a fantastic sleep on a pillow of heaven.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Due to some reviews I was a little hesitant to stay here... We were pleasantly surprised. We requested an early check in and a refrigerator in our room and we got both with no trouble! They also provided a microwave and coffee pot. The room was clean and large enough to easily set up a crib next to our king bed. The staff was very friendly and having a restaurant in the hotel is very convenient while traveling with children. The best part was the price- we booked online for around $70/night!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Best Western

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Water pressure for the shower
Cons: Could use a little investment in appearance.
Location: There is a casino across the street.
Hotel was just alright. Carpet is old, beds were acceptable comfort, but not great. Best part was the water pressure for the shower, which was very strong.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experience

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: The staff and dining room servers.
Cons: The bathroom floor.
Location: There is much to do in Newport. I'm in a Holiday Sales Show and it's convenient and away from down town.
We have stayed at the Mainstay before. We like the price of the room and the people working the breakfast shift are very nice and accomodateing . We would stay there again. The tile in the bathroom needs to be fixed. The floor is coming apart.