Ratings based on 754 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean hotel.

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Decent Hotel for the money. Right by the beach, but First beach is really not a nice beach. The Red tide is so thick they have to clean it off with a special machine. Close walk/run to Cliff Walk. Good for families with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grafton, Ma.

Accommodations nice, beach nearby not-so-nice.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Liked the rooftop whirlpool/Jacuzzi and firepit.
Location: Cliff walk. Walked into downtown Newport for shopping/dining.
We dined, shopped, walked and swam at beach farther east, (10 min. drive). The nearest beach (Easton's) was not clean looking nor smelling, so we bypassed it. Hotel accommodations were nice though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CT

First Beach Perfect for Kids

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the beach,less than one minute walk. door to sand
Cons: the location of the outdoor footwash and showers should have been listed. we found out by accident on the last day
Location: first beach, aquidneck pizza (for breakfast lunch and dinner) was inexpensive, friendly and we could walk there too.
We were in the historical building. Small room for four, but it was clean and updated. We could see the beach from our window. We didn't use the room for anything but changing and sleeping so it was perfect. Best of all it was QUIET at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Nothing to complain about. The food wasn't great. The rooms were Very comfortable. Slightly overpriced for what you are getting. They say ocean view but there is only a small window to see out of. I thought we would have a slider. That was advertiser for a different room but appeared online as if it would be our room. Other than misunderstandings, and a different taste, The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and there was a full bar. I enjoyed my stay and would probably rebook again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: Location
First night was dicey as the queen size bed was not even a full mattress. Upgraded the next day and could not been more happy. Nice room, comfy bed, great location. Staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach!

Posted Jul 2, 2014
My husband and I needed a night away from our five children and we wanted to be at the beach with ocean breeze. We also wanted modern amenities and close to restaurants. They have both. The restaurants on the warf are only a mile down the road. We found parking and enjoyed finding good food and fun shops with beautiful views of the ocean, boats and the sunset! We . in the new building of the hotel. We stayed in a suite that faced the lagoon. So if you want to face the ocean make sure you call and specify. We definitely could have stayed for a week and used the kitchen in the suite to save money on food. We will definitelyy come back to stay and bring the children. The beach is across the street so you can go for a swim, walk or along the cliff walk! The hotel staff was very kind and accommidating for anything we needed! There is a clam shack right next to the hotel and a bar an grill right there as well. Enjoy!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new yourk

overall not good

Posted Jun 2, 2014
I would never recommend anyone going back there, there are many hotels better hotels closer to The restaurants bars and pier, The hotel restaurant and bar it's completely empty no one in there and usually they close restaurant early it's like a ghost hotel pool and Jacuzzi are in the Other building other than that City is beautiful Great people cannot wait to go back there again and again :)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from Connecticut

Horrible room

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I booked a room via hotels.com and did not receive the room I was promised. Supposed queen bed was a full bed. Supposed shower/tub combination was a small shower that you could barely move in. Room was so small that the bathroom door couldn't fully open. Room was so small that two night stands could not fit so we only had one on one side of the bed and on the other side of the bed was a refrigerator. Room was supposed to have a desk but there was no room. There was no room for a dresser, drawers, or a closet. We lived out of our suitcase which could barely fit in the room itself. TV was smaller than advertised and was attached to wall for spacing issues. The lobby was nice and I'm sure there are other rooms that are nice but we did NOT receive what we paid for and hotel management is currently ignoring my complaints/request for a refund. Very disappointed. NOT the luxury beachfront hotel that they claim to be. I felt like I was in a room smaller than my freshman college dorm room. Oh and our "view" out our DIRTY window was a dirty roof with garbage on it. Toilet seat was chipped. Sink barely drained and made weird noises when trying to. What a major disappointment. DO NOT RECOMMEND!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Location
We were at this hotel for only a short overnight, so cannot comment on much besides the great view. The check in staff member was pleasant and the room was comfortable and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good view, a little uptight

Posted May 25, 2014
Our room had a great view of the ocean, beds are very comfortable and wonderful starbucks coffee in the room. the hotel did not have a "beachy" feel though - rooms are small and halls/elevator cramped.