Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from NY

Hidden gem

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable room, great location, nice breakfasts in the morning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by ElleM from Orlando, FL

Quick Stay in A Great part of Town

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the Newport Blues in for a quick overnight in Newport to see the sights. The hotel is in a great neighborhood with lots of 200+ year old Inns and historic buildings, free street parking, and a charming vibe. Check in at the sister inn a few doors down was fast and pleasant. The rooms have actual metal keys so if you are planning to be separated from your travel companion at any point ask for a second set. Our room was clean and simply decorated. With a name like the "Newport Blues Inn" in a waterfront town I expected something a little more coastal feeling rather than the modern black and silver of the room but the fact that it was clean was more important. My only criticism is that the walls are paper thin and we could hear every conversation of other guests passing through the hallway both morning and night (and they could hear us.) The Inn was built as a boarding house so for a night the noises of the other guests just added to the authenticity of the experience. We kept quite and giggled through it! If you are a very light sleeper, like to sleep in or are annoyed by noise pollution then I would request a room on the top floor or opt for a chain hotel (but what's the fun of that?!) Finally, pack light because the stairs are steep (go for a few small bags verses a monster suitcase.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, nice rooms.
Cons: Room was on 3rd floor, walk up only. Had to park a couple of blocks away.
Very nice B&B. Good breakfast, close to many historic sites and attracations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient area to many places.

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Cons: It would be nice if the breakfast started at 7 a. m. And also we could park our car next to the hotel.
I asked a hotel staff if he could help me and my friend bring our luggage to our room. He was unable to help us. Our room was on the second floor and it was difficult for us to carry our luggage to our room. The hotel staff was not able to show us the location of the dining room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Doug from Boston

Close to Wharf Area

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent location close to wharf area. Good clean room. Nice breakfast. Only complaint is noise from upstairs room at 7am. Would ask for an upper room next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cathy from New York

Great location and value

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was clean but quite small. Breakfast was delicious! Close to downtown without the street noisy of the center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sarah from Massachusetts

Adorable, Close, Awesome Breakfast

Posted Jul 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Loved the Black Duck Inn!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Newport's Best Kept Secret

Posted Oct 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
The collection of Inns is very centrally located, right near Thames and close to the waterfront - very convenient! Our room was on the smaller side, but very nicely decorated and the bath clean and modern with nice amenities. We were pleasantly surprised that our stay included a full breakfast in the morning which was graciously prepared and served by Susan. We were happy to discover this hidden jewel in the heart of Newport, and will definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2011 on Hotels.com