Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

decent stay for the price

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Nothing stands out stayed here en-route to another destination
Hotel is average you get you money's worth. The breakfast was OK there had a decent selection
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Cons: They need to install an elevator, you have to carry your own luggage up the stairs to your room. What if you are handicapped?
Our visit was with family we have in Newport. We enjoyed visiting and seeing the sights. We also went to the beach. There were noisy people in the room above us so we did not get very much sleep. And you could here everything through the walls. It was nice to have a newspaper available each morning, most hotels do not offer this service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from balto md

Overpriced

Posted Sep 1, 2014
The hotel was close to Newport but I would try and find something nicer. The TV was a 19 inch older model. I haven't seen those in years. In serious need of updating
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MA

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Location was convenient.
Cons: The hotel is a bit dated.
Location: We spent the evening in Newport which was an easy drive.
Did the job as we where looking for a place to sleep. We had no problems.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

go someplace else

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: go elsewhere
Cons: tear it down, start over
Location: Newport
needs improvement, go someplace else, dingy, dirty and overpriced
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Newport

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Close to Newport. Good restaurants nearby. Courteous staff.
Cons: Secure the side doors. Update rooms and bathrooms. At least wash the carpets in the hallway....
Location: Newport, R.I., Good restaurants nearby.
Hotel is in a convenient location, next to Newport. It is on a busy street. No pool. The staff was courteous and helpful. However the facilities are dated. Walls are thin. We were lucky to have courteous neighbors. We could hear their conversations, especially in the bathroom. My biggest concern was that the side entrance which is not secured. We made sure to keep our room door locked at all times and would not let the kids go get ice unescorted. We did not choose this hotel. We obtained it through the best price option were you find out the name after you book. Our earlier experience with this option was better.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ramada - Salada Middletown

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: it is not too far away from newport
Cons: see above
where should i start? The place is long overdue for a major renovation, and quick! Noisy plumbing, old and noisy A/C, no adequate lighting, no real exhaust fan in bathroom, everything is old and used-up, and "from the 70's"... I don't recommend it, unless you just come in at 10 PM, sleep (or, try to) and leave early the next day.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cortlandt Manor, NY

Lack of security is a concern

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The bathroom was spacious
Cons: Security is a must for ANY hotel. As a guest, I trust my hotel to do its best to keep me and my valuables safe. Breakfast room needs decorating help.
Location: Newport rocks... period. We sailed on The Madeleine at Bannister Wharf - great experience! Deck hands James and Dillon were very informative and funny
We stayed two nights. First impression of the room was that the furniture was form the 1970s... including the tv. I can't remember the last time I stayed in a hotel that had not upgraded to a flatscreen. The fridge was not plugged in... probably because the outlet behind it did not work. Our first morning we took a look at the complimentary continental breakfast served in a dingy conference room and opted to go and pay for an I-Hop breakfast instead. The day was spent exploring Newport... When we returned to our room before dinner, we found our door propped open by the security bar. Seems housekeeping didn't bother to lock the door after they finished. Fortunately our room was at the far end of the hall so there was no traffic past the door and nothing was missing. But knowing that two laptops and other valuables were left unsafe for the better part of the day... NOT GOOD. Speaking of unlocked doors, the side entrance has no keycard entry and is supposed to be locked overnight. It was not. Overall this hotel was a huge disappointment and I cannot in good conscience recommend it for any purpose whatsoever.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Within 15 minutes to downtown Newport, R.I.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Cons: The breakfast offering should be expended to at least offer some more healthy alternatives such as yogurt and fruit.
The room was adequate for a brief visit. Unfortunately the walls between the rooms are very thin so it tended to be a bit noisy. Conversations were easily overheard. The "free breakfast" is sparse, consisting of mostly carbs,( an assortment of standard breads for toasting), small muffins and oatmeal packets. Coffee and juice is also available.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very close to shopping center and restaurants

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The proximity of shopping center and popular restaurants.
Hotel staffs were very pleasant. If they can provide what you ask for they will do it without a fuss . TV was ridiculously small. Had to ask for the refrigerator and microwave. Hotel is very noisy.If you light sleeper this is not the place for you.