Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom West Hartford, CT

Great place to stay in downtown!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Samuel Durfee was a great place to stay for a long weekend! Heather and her husband made us feel at home and provided wonderful recommendations to make our first time in Newport a memorable one. This B and B is in a perfect location for walking to downtown that provides off street parking as well. I would highly recommend staying here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We had a wonderful time! It was clean, and beautiful. They were very accommodating and kind! I can't wait to go back again! N
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint charming B&B with friendly owners near town

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Owners.
Cons: I prefer more modern, but it's lovely for what it is.
Location: Thames Street and the harbor are one block away.
Very nice owners, lovely quaint historic property just a few blocks from town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by 延建

awesome

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We will be there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mahopac, NY

Really nice B&B that's centrally located

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The room was clean and nicely decorated. The bed was comfortable too. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were all really nice. My only complaint would be the showerhead. That's all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pnmfrom NJ

Samuel Durfee House - Great B&B

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay at the Samuel Durfee House...the room was very nice as was the private bath. Everything was well maintained and clean. The B&B is centrally located so we didn't need to move the car and it had a nice big parking lot. The owners were very helpful with vacation tips and the breakfast served was very good. It was our first stay at a B&B and I am really glad that we picked it and would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Loisfrom CT

Nice B&B- Good location- Nice hosts

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable and accommodating- Informative about area- Comfortable room- great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Charleston, SC

Hospitality To Spare

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The room had all of the creature comforts and amenities you look for. And again, the breakfasts outshine many a five star restaurant.
Cons: I do like down pillows and would like to see that as an option.
We visited in mid July, the height of the tourist season. We were so lucky to find the Samuel Durfee House. Location is excellent, the house charming, and the price a real bargain for the quality of the experience. Michael and Heather were completely dedicated to making our stay first rate. And their breakfasts are amazing. Heather is a wonderful pastry chef and each morning brought a different delight. And each day Michael concocted a menu that was as delicious as the previous day. You leave fully sated for the day. Except my husband was snooping around for the great cookies around 4:00. A top notch experience all the way around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Very nice B&B close to the epicenters of Newport

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The historic ambience, the proprietors, and the excellent location.
Location: See the general comments above.
Lovely very old house in prime location with easy parking. The proprietors are attentive and good folks - not hard to get to know at all. Our room was quite comfortable - roomy and quiet with a bathroom that was certainly adequate. Breakfast can be served in either the dining room or outside and it was quite good both days of our stay. Restaurants, bars, the waterfront, and shopping are all very convenient to the house. And, the great historic mansions of Newport are, with a little hike, walkable. We had a very enjoyable stay there and would recommend it.