Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT.

Centrally located hotel-

Posted Dec 31, 2014
The water pressure in the shower was extremely low-very difficult rinsing out shampoo and conditioner. The room was spacious for a family of 4. Hotel staff was very pleasant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom New England

Five Day Getaway

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Charming, Quite, Clean, Great staff, Convenient Location
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Lots to see and Do! Newport is great place to visit
My wife & I love the Carriage House Inn located in Middletown RI. The staff is the most friendly and helpful we've ever experienced. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was just OK. We expected it to be basic considering the lower price per night. We didn't go there to eat. We went there to enjoy the wonderful accommodations and quite atmosphere. We will definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Jersey City

Nice place to stay but...

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Pros: Almost everything, location, clean, quiet, comfortale
Cons: The smell in the entire place was so bad, the room and the hallway smelled so musty i couldn't stand it!
Location: Close to the beach, and shopping centers
Room was large, clean, comfortable, great location, nice staff, great price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2014
From the second we arrived the staff was over friendly. I cannot say enough about the great service. The lady at the front recommended breakfast and dinner spots. Bed was a little hard for me but overall a great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lutz-Hagenfrom Grünendeich

Gute Lage und Top Preis/Leistung

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Für die Erkundung von Newport und Umgebung gerade die richtige Lage. Sehr ruhig gelegen. Preis/Leistung ist sehr gut!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty good

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Neighborhood is quiet and pleasant. It is about a 1 1/2 mile walk to the center of Newport. Room was okay, a little tight and bed was a bit hard but overall fine. When I went to take a shower, the water came out brown--not a rusty brown either, a really dark brown. It took about four-five tries of running the water until it ran clear. Also, we had an unpleasant incident in which the couple above us came in about 1am and had a violent argument. We called down to the desk to report it however it continued. We then called back again and the person at the desk said that he had gone up but not heard them. That could have been the case since their shouting was somewhat intermittent. Finally, he called us back (now about 1:30) to report that they wouldn't be disturbing us any more (which they actually did with a loud conversation). Around 2am, I used my ear buds to drown out the sound and finally fell asleep. I'm a light sleeper but my husband who sleeps like a log was disturbed also. The person who was at the desk during the day said that she would have offered to compensate us with a partial refund but couldn't do that because we made our reservation through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by C Cobb

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Winnipeg, Mb,

Charming hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: The room was large and worked well for 3 adults. It was charming.
Cons: The king bed was comfortable but the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. The complimentary breakfast was very poor.
Location: Newport is very close and a beautiful place to visit. We loved touring the mansions. Cape Cod and Sandwich Glass Museum are also close.
We were travelling by car and wanted a central location that was easy to access. We found the hotel to be convenient for our travels around the Newport, Cape Cod area. The breakfast was not very good and we needed to eat elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom slc utah

Very nice

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, friendly staff, location
Location: close to Newport shopping, close to restaurants, laundromat!
We stayed in over a dozen hotels/B&B's on our east coast trip and this one was a pleasant surprise. Very spacious room, very clean, would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danielfrom Virginia

Nice place to stop over for.

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great older hotel but in good condition. We had a beautiful stay (on the third floor) which was a haul considering my wife and i always pack too much. But the room was massive and totally worth it. Great staff very friendly. Good location quiet and out of the way.