Ratings based on 929 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice for visiting mansions of Newport

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Staff was excellent. Hotel was decorated nicely for holidays. Liked that complimentary coffee and hot tea was available in lobby on Monday when checking out. Our room layout was fine and convenient (two queens and split bathroom configuration) but our friends we were traveling with got a much smaller type room on a higher floor. Their bathroom sink was comical, as it was literally a half of a sink bowl hugging the wall. Not sure what can be done about that as those rooms are just smaller, but they are well done. Beds and linens were very comfortable. No self park here, valet only. Bring your swimsuit, the indoor pool/hot tub area was very inviting (unlike most indoor pools) and we wish we had. We enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yellow stains on two bath towel items,no bath,

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: The bed
Cons: Towels and washcloths
Location: We love Rhode Island
The bellhops were the greatest, so kind!! Mike in maintenance very helpful as our heater gave out, and room service had gone for the day twice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Especially at the holidays!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Attractive. Great front desk. Comfy and clean.
Cons: wifi and tv(channels kept freezing up)
Location: great spot. walk to all.
Always stay here during xmas holiday. Beautifully done. Did a mid week stay and was very fairly priced, super comfy and clean. Cons? Housekeeping was clearly not worried about waking anyone as they were yelling back and forth in the hall at all hours. I was there to rest so this was annoying. I do believe someone spoke to them as the last day was not so bad. There were issues with the tv and wifi, but my guess is that was addressed after i left. Do be aware, VALET parking is mandatory and you pay per day. This was new to me and annoying since i was back and forth a fair bit. Having said that, Valet guys were charming and pretty timely. Front desk is ALWAYS courteous and a pleasure. Good gym and wonderful spa. I had a massage with Caitrona. Heavenly!!! I love the location and also will mention that while i haven't eaten in the restaurant….It is nice to have there. You never have to leave the hotel if you don't want!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Posted Dec 7, 2014
We loved The Hotel Viking. The hotel was beautiful and close to everything. The night we were there the main lounge had a great three piece band. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Hartford, CT

Lovely hotel - can walk everywhere

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: It was old but modern at the same time. Not a "cookie cutter" hotel. A refreshing change. Not to mention pool and hot tub open until 11:00 PM
Cons: We thought our room was a little darker than we preferred even with lights on - however it was a rainy 3 days when we were there.
Location: While on Bellevue which is a main street with lots of stores, the hotel area was quiet. Near restaurants, museums & Christmas Tree Lighting!
We chose a quiet time to go to Newport for some R&R and this was a perfect time and spot. The entire staff was friendly (not a glued on smile but genuinely nice and friendly) and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long island NY

Central location

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Hotel is convenient to downtown Newport. We were able to walk everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Really nice hotel and great staff

Posted Nov 25, 2014
First stay and will go back. Housekeeping could be better i.e. making sure items are replenished. The car service was an unexpected bonus and the staff could not have been better. The business center was a great plus as we were able to print out our boarding passes to fly out the next morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Easy location to walk into town. Clean and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Girls' Weekend Getaway

Posted Nov 17, 2014
A charming hotel with a lovely pool, spa and workout facility. We loved the location - peaceful, but still close enough to all the action. The concierge was especially friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Our room was very comfortable. Very clean, nice shower/water pressure. Cozy bedding and good set up.
Cons: Why the resort fee?
Location: The location is perfect. We were able to walk to shops and many restaurant options, including a great diner for breakfast, and many dinner options.
The reception is very warm and inviting, including valet parking and greeters at the door and sign-in area. The lounge is great, the restaurant has a nice menu and friendly wait staff. Our room was great - very comfortable, very quiet. We signed out on Sunday relaxed, rested, and happy! The pricing is typical for a place like this - my only complaint would be the unexpected costs like "resort fee" and parking fees. Parking ($10 per day) may be universal is a small city like this, but a resort fee? It seems that the use of the hotel lobby (and pool or spa which we did not use) should be a part of the room fee (isn't this why the Viking costs more than the Motel 8?) We had a wonderful weekend - overall a good place to stay.