Ratings based on 947 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Enjoyed our mini get away. Staff was wonderful and accommodating. The free shuttle service was a bonus. The room was comfortable but the bathroom was not as clean as it should've been. Could use more lighting and mirrors. Love Newport but one night just isn't enough time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The staff is Fantastic!! Helpful and Friendly!!! Whatever you need attitude was greatly appreciated!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Off-Season Stay

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: Ambiance, furnishings, cuisine, mattress and bed linens.
Location: Even off season, there is so much to do from touring the grand mansions to window shopping in town to taking an invigorating walk on the Cliff Walk.
We love Newport and typically stay in B&Bs but decided to try The Hotel Viking in the off season. The entrance is a welcoming and lovely one, and furnishings are beautifully maintained. The room itself -- with two queen beds -- was handsomely and uniquely decorated, and very comfortable. Room temperature was comfortable. Breakfast was both delicious and creative, and served in the original part of the hotel. Lots of ambiance. A very nice touch was the hotel shop's merchandise and art sourced through local artists and craftspeople. Staff went out of their way to be accommodating and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Sometimes change can be a very good thing! We love knowing that you enjoyed the elegance of our historic hotel for the first time. Thank you for sharing your review and appreciation for The Hotel Viking. With so many unique features and attractions, our Newport hotel has much to offer everyone. We are grateful for your mentioning what aspects you enjoyed during your stay, including the service provided by our associates. Whatever the season, our area is filled with so much to do! We do hope you will join us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent full service hotel.

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The accommodations were better than I expected and the staff was excellent.
Location: The mansions, many fine eating places of all tastes and types and a variety of shops.
Within walking distance of many shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for letting us know about your stay at The Hotel Viking. We are glad you appreciated the service you found in our hotel. Our well-appointed guest rooms are designed to complete your refreshing encounter. As you mentioned, so many of the area’s attractions are within minutes of our front door. We hope you will consider another excellent visit with us in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom myrtle beach sc

nic d'hôtel close to our sons home.

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Clan and well maintained.
Cons: No changes
Location: Within walking distance to eat and shop.
Lovely hotel in a great location. Most of our time was spent with family at their home. Enjoyed Newport and would love to go back in nicer weather.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Location: Bolivia's restaurant on Thames... a must
I booked 5 rooms for my sister's 50th......great place great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not exactly what was booked.

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Very nice older hotel. Room was not exactly what was promised - Estate King Deluxe overlooking the courtyard. It was a nice Queen Deluxe room overlooking the roof/pool deck and out to the Bay. We were tired and cold when we checked in and decided not to ask about a room change. The next day when we checked out and mentioned we were a bit disappointed the reception person was smiling and defensive...and said it was a king room. Pardon me. Oh well, we had a nice night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: We love the old look of the building and the inside of the building was cool looking as well.
Cons: Hotel menu was very expensive.
It was a very nice hotel we loved everything about it. It was very close to the hospital that we needed to go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic and Opulent

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: see above And the staff was congenial with great recommendations for dinner as well as the best clam chowder at the Balck Pearl!
Cons: Wish I would have realized there was a pool ahead of time! I missed that somehow.
Location: The Newport Mansions were within walking distance and there was wonderful shopping and dining in the area.
My husband and I enjoyed our stay tremendously. The room was very comfortable and clean as well as furnished reflective of the time period. We also enjoyed the live music in the bar and the amenities of the pool and such. It was within walking distance of everything we wanted and the valet parking was very responsive when we needed our car.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom EF

Beautiful spot, terrible service

Posted Jan 3, 2015
We stayed here for New Years Eve and New Years Day. We were told that someone had checked in using my name, which is impossible and also told us we had only one night. After showing my receipt of purchase, and getting the run around, they claimed to upgrade my room. Everything went well up until check out when we were charged for the second night stay because the staff didn't think we paid for it. After confirming with receipt the staff was unsure on what the to do. After a good 20 minutes we were told the charges will not be applied. Whell see about that. We love Newport and comes few times a year, experiencing different hotels. This is our second stay at the Viking. Even though it's centrally located and has a historic feel, this is probably my last stay at this location.