Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DK from Boston

European Grace

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
High end European hotels, particularly those in Greece, pride themselves on their high quality customer service. This small hotel chain (Grace), with 2 hotels in Greece, clearly prides themselves on following the principle that the customer comes first. It has been rare to experience this type of service in the US. From a pre-visit call asking about dinner reservations, to champagne as we checked in, to a wonderful European-style breakfast in the morning, and to the staff who were willing to help at any turn, I strongly recommend this hotel for any sort of retreat from the real world into the "graceful" relaxation provided by a stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan from New York City

Great weekend visit!

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful retreat and convenient to walk anywhere in Newport. Rooms were beautiful and spacious. Would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeff from Connecticut

Perfect trip

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
I can't express in words how happy we were. We're going back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cassandra from Los Angeles CA

Beautiful hotel in the center of town…..

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: The staff was exceptionally helpful, the rooms were gorgeous and well-appointed. Nice buffet breakfast in the beautiful conservatory included.
Cons: ONLY one thing could use improvement - the pillows!
Location: Tour the mansions that are just a couple miles away. Go on the 10 mile drive.
Gorgeous historical hotel on a lovely street in the center of Newport. and very sweet, helpful and knowledgable young staff. Loved the incredible home-made chocolates and peanut brittle they brought to your room for 'turn-down'.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jessica from Boston, MA

This place is the bomb!

Posted Nov 18, 2013
May be my favorite place to stay ever. They heard me say it was husband's birthday and sent up a bottle of wine to our room. The rooms are fab - clean, serene, comfortable, nice amenities included - the little things, like fresh apples, bottled water, glass of champagne on arrival and at breakfast - all complimentary. The roof deck has a beautiful view of the shops and restaurants of Newport and the water and bridge. We didn't spend much time there this time (since it was November), but this would be a huge plus in the warmer months. There is a bar up there and adirondack chairs facing 180 degrees. We are hoping to make bi-annual trips to the Vanderbilt Grace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by david from CT

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: The staff was extremely attentive. You could not ask for more., their friendliness left you feeling like they were family.
Cons: The hotel restaurant, Muse, left alot to be desired. They lost my reservation after telling me that I would be seated after a half hour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Babs from Philadephia, PA

Beautiful hotel, but leaves much to be desired

Posted Oct 20, 2013
Cons: forget the pillow menu and improve the comfort of the pullout bed.
Vanderbilt Grace is an architecturally lovely hotel in a perfect location. The staff is friendly and very attentive. Comfortable bed and amenities such as a pillow menu and aromatherapy make for a feeling of luxury. However, there were several disappointments. The rug in our room was stained, and the extra blanket was pilled and contained many long hairs from prior guests. Our junior suite was rated for 3 guests, however, this required use of the single most uncomfortable pullout I've ever tried. I would not have minded so much had there not been a significant upcharge for a 3rd guest in the room. Television in the bedroom was unwatchable due to horrible reception. Room service was prompt, but the heavily salted food was left mostly untouched by our family of three. I expected much more from a hotel charging these rates. Four stars based upon the hotel alone; 3 stars when one factors in the rates.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good Service

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall service was strong. The rest of the hotel didn't deserve such high points specially relative to price. Pool was hardly a pool and the gym was so-so. Room didn't have separate beds and dormers were inconveniently low.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dennis from Goose Creek, SC

DH

Posted Sep 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel and great experience!