Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very basic

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: On a positive note, the desk manager was very nice and helpful. Location is great, 10 minutes from Newport.
Cons: Very dated. Old furniture/TV.
Location: Location only 10 minute drive right down to Newport. The beach is 10 minutes away.
This hotel is very old. The pool is tiny, doesn't look like picture on website at all. When we checked in, there was no TV remote. The staff was very helpful and did get us one but had to "find" it and then reprogram it. There was no welcome book to list area restaurants and no TV guide for channels. They advertise free HBO but you have no idea what channel that is unless you ask. It was an old TV from 15 years ago. We obviously didn't go to watch TV but when you're in the room, we like to have it on especially at night before bed. It was definitely not worth the money. Would have paid more for a higher quality hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ct

Good location on a budget

Posted Aug 15, 2014
The motel was what we needed.. Less then 10 mins from newports attractions. The breakfast was a nice surprise.. Much nicer then other motels ive stayed at. i also used the outdoor pool which was well maintained
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from conn

I like the location, everything is near by

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Maybe assigned parking
Location: Dollar tree 3 min away love it!!!! Love the pool as we'll
Breakfast was awesome, love the new upgrade on televisions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Trifle worn, but still quite nice

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: They just replaced their old picture-tube TVs with flat-screens -- nice!
Cons: The mirror in the bathroom really needed to be replaced, and the btreakfast was adequate, but nothing to write home about.
Location: Very close to, but not in, Newport. I went to visit Portsmouth, where my first American ancestor was among the original settlers (around 1638).
As my title indicates, my room was showing very minor signs of wear, but overall was very nice! Staff was helpful. Overall: Totally worth the $90 I spent on this Sunday night in August. I don't think there's anything close in price that would have been acceptable in the entire county.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Nice Hotel For A Short Stay!!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: it was local and pretty close by car (15 minute average) to all major Newport locations.
Cons: Not much.. there were noisy people staying on top of our room, but we should have called the front desk.
Location: Pretty close and central, and at least 15 minutes by car from all major locations, like the Mansions and the water front.
I brought my family out to Newport, Rhode Island for a weekend (and it was the most amount of boats and yachts I've seen outside of Mystic, Connecticut which we stopped at on the way there). I was just looking for an affordable hotel, where the rates were manageable for 2 rooms and 1 night, especially in Newport where the rates can get a bit insane, as I would expect to pay those rates for a more luxurious place like Las Vegas. We came an hour before the 3PM check-in time but were still setup within 20 minutes, so no issues. Parking was free and we found spots right near our rooms. The rooms were pretty clean, and full with the amenities you would expect. I read a review here regarding the old tube televisions they had, which looks like they threw outside when we arrived, and both our rooms had Samsung 32 inch flat screens. The rooms and the beds were comfortable and furnished well. Fast free WiFi! Expedia has this hotel as 2 and half stars, but I'm glad I looked at the Tripadvisor rating as well, as was over 3 stars so between the Ambassador Inn and the Ramada, I took a chance on this one. Breakfast was all you can expect, and with coffee, waffles, boiled eggs, danish and muffins, I was happy. The pool was pretty small (smaller than what the picture may imply) but we took advantage of the local beaches. In summary, it's just a place to sleep in, and you don't take a long drive to Newport just to sleep at the hotel. We were pretty pleased. We expected worse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Media, PA

college visit and family trip

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: continental breakfast was good. hotel very, very clean. quiet at night. room TV replaced by new flat screen while we were there. Very reasonable rate
Cons: roll away was OK for my teen, but not too comfortable.
Location: 20 minutes from URI, 10min to town, 15 min to mansion area. 15 min from Middletown beaches.
local college visit with the family. this hotel is about 10 minutes from town and 20 minutes from Univ of RI. Hotel was quiet. Very, very clean. 3 night stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec, Canada

The hotel is located not to far from the downtown

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, micro wave and fridge
Cons: Cannot think of anything right now
Location: Near everything, downtown, beach, mansions, park
Our visit was a family reunion and the weather helping made this visit a success.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible smell

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Teerible smell and dirty. Not as pictures..............................
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

One stay for a conference.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Easy to get to, and lots of dining nearby.
Cons: They need to replace the tv's with some new flat screen tv's.
Location: Right along the main road in town. Very safe neighborhood.
I was going to nearby Newport, RI for a conference. I had stayed at this hotel before. It's very easy to find, and there are lots of restaurants nearby. The room is pretty basic, but it was very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful about giving directions and tips for nearby dining. There were also free copies of the Providence Journal newspaper, if you wanted one. I would recommend this hotel to a friend, and I will be staying here again next year.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Basic`

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Nothing. It was just available for the night and we needed a room
Cons: Modernize fully
Location: Location is typical suburban strip. Usually schlock fast food chains, shopping
The tv was an antique. Noisy place. We took a lower room. The noise from anyone using the stairs, the upper walkway reverberated through our room. Very basic and we would not return.