Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Intimate

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: It is reasonably priced and the proprietor, James Curran, is very affable.
Cons: More shelves in bath.
Location: Rostrevor is very scenic. The big stone near Kilbroney Park is interesting, but the road and trail leading to it are not well marked.
The Oystercatcher is a very small B & B. Just 3-4 guest rooms. It is almost like staying with friends or relatives.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Akin from Orsett Essex

Will be spectacular in summer

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The host and the facility.
Cons: The grounds.
Location: Was there for a christening therefore no time to explore.
James the proprietor is an excellent host and Bernie can cook up a storm of a breakfast. The room was unclusterd yet had every thing. The bathroom was well equipped and will put many hotels to shame. The property has a view to die for. Will definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Co Wicklow

You can walk into Kilbroney Park

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
We only decided to book and travel 18 hours before departure to watch the Ulster Juniors cross country qualifying event in Kilbroney Park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Coco P from England

Fabulous location!

Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our stay at The Oystercatcher which was quirky and different. In a great location across the road from the Loch, our first floor twin room had a fabulous view looking out across the water towards the mountains near Carlingford. Very laid back atmosphere, so probably most suited to walkers/cyclists/artists/musicians/young outdoor types; if you are looking for a corporate hotel with marble and tiles everywhere, this is probably not for you, but if you want somewhere unique, different, comfortable and with superb breakfasts, then go for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by milmol from milton keynes

Fantastic Host

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely location with fantastic views of Newry River and southern Ireland. Not to mention the edge of the Mourne mountains. B&B facilities as expected with a very filling breakfast. Wished we had booked more nights here. Will definitely visit again if back in Ireland. Owner quite a character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Samy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by vincent cut-price from Devon, UK

great service, hosts couldn't be more helpful,

Posted Jul 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
a lovely B&B in a beautiful village beside the Loch, backed by the Mourne Mouintains. Host was a real character and produced a breakfast for champions and was generous and helpful at all times. Wonderful service, clean & comfortable room, made me feel very welcome even as a single traveller. Hope to stay here again when i come back on business. The Irish builders have some creative solutions to loft conversions and the room quality has been mentioned by some reviewers, but it really isn't a problem IMO.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Ben from UK

Wonderful view

Posted May 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Oystercatcher is a lovely little hotel with beautiful views of the surrounding natural environment. The host was very friendly and informal, which made us at ease. Being in the front room this was important because we had access to the whole house. Breakfast was superb and rounded off a very nice stay in a very picturesque location. Rostrevor is a small village but we found the pubs and restaurant to be very friendly and to a decent standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great location, breakfast and view

Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly owners, fab breakfast and gorgeous view to wake up too
5 out of 5
Recommended
by mcguinavere

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2013 on Hotels.com