Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portsmouth

Great hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Clean, good food and drink, with extremely friendly staff.
Cons: I thought my single room was a bit tiny, but since it was extremely clean and kept tidy every day, I really can't complain.
Location: Some local places of interest, and splendid local walks, but I was staying there mainly as a base for long drives into the Highlands.
The hotel is in the quiet village of Newtonmore, and is a good spring board for local walks or longer drives. Being a small village, you wouldn't go there for the nightlife, but the hotel has a excellent bar in which you can recover from your daytime jaunts. The food served is excellent, nothing too fancy, but good value for your money. I stayed for six nights with no complaints.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by pja2525from Milton Keynes UK

Great Pub/Hotel shame about Breakfast

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
the hotel was good and the Food and beer were good. the room i had was very comfortable and clean, but breakfast was a disappointment. All i wanted was a sausage sandwich but when it came the sausages must have been about the cheapest you could buy. I had 2 bites and left the rest. why do hotels use poor ingredients in the one meal you have to have with them and it is the last impression you have of the hotel. if you choose a B&B then much higher quality ingredients are used. Would i stay there again? On a room only basis then yes but i would look for alternatives first. as you can tell from my comments all it would have taken to get a first rate review and for me to come back when I am in the area again was a good quality breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Midlands

nice hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: It's location,comfort and cleanliness.
Cons: Extra soundproofing on the windows on the rooms at the front of the hotel. Maybe some soundproofing on the walls between rooms.
Location: Plenty of walks, cafes and close to other interesting towns eg Aviemore.
We were greeted by a pleasant member of staff who booked us in. He explained where everything was and the timings of everything. We found our room very easily, which was room number 9, the room was very clean as were the en suite facilities. The room was located at the front of the hotel facing on to the main road, in the day and up to around 10pm you could hear the sound of the traffic, however this did not disturb us during the night. The windows were double glazed, but could maybe do with some extra soundproofing a room at the rear maybe quieter. We could also hear the guests in the next room filling up and using the bath. At around 10pm someone switched on some kind of machine, which went on for around 10mins this happened twice. This disturb us, but only for the time it was on. We had a couple of small issues, one the tv remote and two the loo seat they were both dealt with fast and efficiently. We had a meal in the hotel that evening, which was a very good meal. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. We would return to this hotel it's comfort, cleanliness, size of room and service of the staff were all very pleasing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Lovely Overnight Stay

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a room to the back of the hotel - so no road noise. We had a lovely newly refurbished en-suite with a bath - which was particularly welcome, to soak away any aches and pains from our ascent of Ben Nevis earlier that day. Lovely meal in the restaurant and a great breakfast with good choice of items - the fruit salad was delicious. We would definitely stay here again if in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David Dfrom greenock

well run hotel

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyable & comfortable short break.Well looked after in bar/restaurant.Food very good with a wide choice,reasonably priced.Don't miss out on the cask ales.Room comfortable & quiet even above front door & bar.No hesitation in recommending.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Poor reception and attitude from staff - pay up front and pretty surly service spoiled what was a nice enough hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy the service at The Glen. We just need to clarify that no pre - booked guests are asked to pay up front. If a guest chooses not to pay on arrival then we do require to pre authorise a credit or debit card. This is not payment - it merely confirms that validity of the card. We are further assured by Expedia & Hotels.com that guests are advised of this in their booking confirmations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Small fryfrom Glasgow

Posted Apr 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel. Staff pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Dukefrom Edinburgh

An unexpected hidden treasure

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for 1 night and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was much nicer than expected for such a cheap room rate. The bed was very comfortable and it was everything I could of asked for from this very clean and bright room however the meal in the bar let the evening down but the breakfast more than made up for it. I will definetly be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Stuartfrom Banchory

Quiet weekend break

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely clean hotel. Manager Chris and all staff very friendly. Excellent Real ale, including a great stout. Also try the new Cairngorm lager. Pub food very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stevefrom Edinburgh

Birthday weekend

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely place to stay if you are up for the walking n shinty. Great hotel vegan vege friendly just ask