Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sharifrom Hamilton, ON

Basic Hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
we picked the Diplomat because of location and because our first choice had been all booked up. Basically we were only looking for a place to sleep because we were attending a birthday in the area. The hotel itself was okay, but if you are looking for something "up scale" or with a view of the Falls, this is not the place to stay. They have no amenities in your room such as fridge, coffee maker, etc. It was clean and fairly quiet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ingofrom Hessen

Einfaches Übernachtungshotel

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Das Diplomat Inn ist für 1-2 Nächte ok. Es bedarf jedoch einer dringenden Renovierung. Insgesamt macht es einen sehr abgewohnten Eindruck. Die Zimmerausstattung ist sehr reduziert, Betten und Bad aber ok und sauber. Das Hotel bietet freies Parken und Wifi, kein Frühstück. Die Niagara Fälle sind in ca 10 Min zu Fuß zu erreichen. Die Umgebung macht auch Nachts einen sichere Eindruck. Das Seiteneingänge des Hotels aber selbst Nachts unverschlossen sind, gibt zu denken.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Wouldn't Stay There Again

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Free parking and daily room cleanliness.
Cons: 24 Hour Front Desk; Building Security after hours; Update room keys to card type; Provide advertised room amenities; Room maintenance; Elevator servic
Location: Good location within walking distance to major attractions and restaurants.
The only good thing to say about my 3 night stay was that the cleaning staff was friendly and helpful and did a top notch job cleaning the room. Other than that, it was a negative experience as follows... Condition of the room and furniture was appalling with deep scratches in the furniture; facing of the bathroom counter top was hanging off; bathroom fan did not work; heater provided barely warm air for a brief time when turned on and thereafter only forced cold air into the room; very dated (1960's) light fixtures provided dim light at best; 1980's Tube Television with cable received only 8 channels as only 1 in 3 actually worked; Warm showers only in the evening... If guest wants to shower in the morning, expect 1 degree above freezing; Although advertised included in the rooms there was no refrigerator and no coffee/tea maker; 3 Storey Inn has no elevator so if you need one better look elsewhere; Free WiFi worked 2 out of 3 nights and with no night staff to reset the modem, you get what you get; Room door entry by a single Key should be updated to electronic Card Key locks which are programmable; Very poor security as front desk not 24 hour so building entry after daytime hours was through an unlocked door.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Catherinefrom Toronto

Not Impressed

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room smelled of smoke, the Wi-Fi was not good at all, it was inconsistent. I was just overall disappointed in the quality of room and quality of stay. I will not return to this inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad pricing hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2014
I paid $109. And discovered the room next door went for $59
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mandinefrom France

C'est pas cher... on sait pourquoi

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Le grand atout de cet hôtel c'est son prix. Mais voilà quand on veut un hôtel pas cher on doit s'attendre a ce qu'il ne soit pas parfait, ici nous avons un hôtel vétuste qui aurait besoin d'un petit coup de frais. La propreté est correcte mais je n'ai pas regardé de trop près. Le nécessaire de toilettes et limité au minimum et les serviettes de bains sont rêches. Néanmoins, l'accueil est sympathique, les lits sont confortable et l’hôtel est assez au calme. Ensuite coté situation ce n'est pas vraiment les beaux quartiers de Niagara et il vous faudra un petit quart d'heure de marche pour rejoindre les rues animées mais ça se fait assez facilement et c'est le prix a payer pour ne pas se ruiner. Donc si la propreté et la proximité des attractions sont hyper importantes pour vous, passez votre chemin. Si le prix est plus important alors allez y, vous pourriez tomber sur pire.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by jamalifrom winnipeg

not satisfied

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
front desk lady was careless and rude
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice people and quiet

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
People at front desk are very nice and helpful. Rooms are a bit old but comfy. 10 minutes walk to the falls, in a quiet place away from the downtown noise. Couple of estaurants in the surroundings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, Georgia

Great place to stay and very affordable

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay at the Diplomat Inn while visiting the Niagara Falls. We were within walking distance to the falls and to food and other town activities. If you are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay that is clean and has friendly service then the Diplomat Inn is for you.