Ratings based on 883 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2014
It was very convenient to all attractions since they have such a good location they should have this place much cleaner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good budget hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Do not expect many things, but a very good budget hotel for 1 or 2 days. Highly recommended for short stays
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good to stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Breakfast is not great, rooms are okay, old fashioned, one of the lights were not working. The staff were friendly. Overall good experience for the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Not bad for the price

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location was walking distance to nearly everything we came to do and see.
Cons: For a non-smoking room, the reek of smoke from the hallway was noticeable.
Location: American side of Niagara Falls, Niagara Aquarium, Discovery Center, Hard Rock Cafe, and much more.
TV remote was broken but immediately replaced when announced. Shower had mildew but room was clean. Breakfast room was small and cramped, choices were extremely limited. Location was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dubai, UAE

Try other hotels

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: close to falls
Cons: Staff behaviour
Rude staff!! Had promised me early check in if I arrive at 12 noon - was very rude and refused to give room despite their promise Small breakfast room! Overall bad experience!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No frills hotel. You get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Hotel is reasonably placed near the Falls, however if one is looking for an exciting and pleasurable hotel stay this isn't it. It is extremely basic. No gym facility, pool hours are 4 pm - 10 pm, so if you wake up early and want to go to the pool, tough luck. The hotel staff is excellent and provide great service and advice which is what saves this hotel from getting a worse rating. My experience wasn't bad, I simply regret not going to a better place and spending a little more money for a better experience. For those on a tight budget then this is a gem, everyone else is better off spending a few more bucks elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel online. I am very happy you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have a great location and an excellent staff. Our pool is open from 10 am till 10 pm during the summer months. Thanks again as your comments help us serve our guests better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Windows dont open, bad and loud AC and the whole thing in need of a refab after its last one in 1962. And no Howard Johnsons restaurant connected.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online. I am sorry you had a negative experience. The maintenance department took care of the air conditioner. Had you made the front desk aware of the problem we would have replaced the AC unit. I will share your other concerns with ownership. Thanks again for your comments as they do help us do a better job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, disappointing hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness.
Rooms were not cleaned well. Had to request a vacuum. Towels were not replenished unless asked. Chlorine smell from the pool emanated throughout the second floor. Breakfast was horrible. Very little selection and very crowded little breakfast room. On the positive side, great location, walking distance to all NY Niagara attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Steve, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel online. I am glad you found the Howard Johnson in Niagara Falls, NY to have a great location and staff. I have spoken to housekeeping regarding your concerns. Our free continental breakfast consists of fresh fruit, cold and hot cereals, Danish pastries, coffee cake, blueberry muffins, banana nut muffins, apple juice, orange juice, coffee tea and milk. We do have additional seating in the lobby. Thanks again for your comments as they help us do a better job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We have to do what??

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Not much.
Cons: better public relations
Location: OK location but you really need to like walking
We had to change rooms, then the keys only work for 24 hours then you have to have them charged again. What???
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

"You pay for the location"

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The room, hotel, and amenities did not equal the price charged. I understand that we were paying for the location but come on Niagra Falls, NY: step it up a bit. The city is filthy and disgusting. There was little to nothing in the way of tourism, attractions etc. I was beyond disappointed with the city of Niagra