Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HORRIBLE ROOM

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING, NEEDS A COMPLETE REMODEL!
ROOMS SMELLED, DIRTY, ONLY 2 TOWELS, 2 PILLOWS, SMELLED, BED WAS SO OLD WOULD NEVER GO BACK!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Collingwood, ON

Awful Property

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Needs to be totally renovated
Location: Good location close to the border and that is why we selected it.
I can't believe that Howard Johnsons would put their name to this property, old, dirty, terrible.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Acton, Ontario

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: It was very close to the border
Found the staff very friendly and helpful, room was large and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lucknow, Ontario

Nice hotel close to border.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Perfect stay for something simple. No complications
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heck no!

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Arrived after a concert to check in. 2 am. Knew it wasn't a great hotel but figured, hey I am there 5 hours to sleep. However the office is locked. No one answers the door. Finally have to call the office. I check in and am given the worst bed in the world. It was like sleeping on concrete. Please pay more and sleep elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ajax

Was Close To Peace Bridge and QEW

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Was Close to Peace Bridge And The QEW To Come Home.
Cons: Steps going to 2nd floor could use some attention
Location: You Have Peace Bridge Right Beside And Lots Of Food And Canadian Tire And Wallmart Up Road.
Older motel but room was clean and was comfortable, battery was getting low at 3:00am and kept chirping till got up in morning..lol But in all was nice motel and was close to everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Waterpipe burst when we were there but it was quickly fixed and water was running once again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brantford, ON

Reasonably priced hotel close to border

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Reasonably priced hotel for a place to stay for the night.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointed

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
Should be priced as a discount motel. Carpets needed vacuuming. Did not feel clean due to the old décor and dirty carpet. Snow plough left mound of snow in front of our vehicle in the morning! Would not stay here again. Booked here because it was a "Howard Johnson" Inn. Will not trust the HOJO name again!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cambridge, ON

Room for improvement

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Reading the reviews for this hotel/motel, I didn't expect a lot. While the room was relatively comfortable and clean, there was definitely a lot of room for improvement. The dead bolt didn't lock all of the way, towel holder was close to falling off the wall, water stains, etc. A family arrived around 10:30pm and were put in the room above us (even though the hotel wasn't very full so I found that inconsiderate) and were stomping around, yelling and being extremely loud until 1am or later. Also, not sure what happened to the free wifi but we received NO information about how to get it. When it came to checking out, no one was there at the desk (at 7:30am.) If I found myself in the same situation, needing a hotel on the Canadian side, close to the border, I would pay a little extra to stay somewhere that was updated and offered a hot breakfast, not cereal and bagels that had been around for who knows how long.