Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il

What a wonderful hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
After the craziness of the Niagra Falls area, what a wonderful respite to come to this vintage hotel and area...we had room 108, a third floor room with a fireplace and 4 poster bed. We didn't want to leave. The staff was so helpful...Jason who took our car and also all our bags up those stairs...and the front desk who helped us get reservations...and the lovely staff at the bar and lounge. This should only have 5 star ratings, I can't think of one thing I would change!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Not just a holiday, but a step back in time.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: Inside and out the hotel was immaculate. All the staff were professional, attentive and made you feel like royalty.
Cons: Nothing, it is perfect as is.
Location: The location is idyllic and things to do include everything from A-Z
It was like stepping out of a time machine, to a time in the past. The quaint old shops and buildings on main street to the charm of the Niagara-on-the-lake area, it was magical. Our stay there was fabulous. The Prince of Wales Hotel was the icing on the cake in your favourite flavour! Niagara Falls just a scenic drive up the road with plenty historic sights, beautiful gardens, vineyards, golfing, tourist attractions to everyone's liking and of course Niagara Falls itself. And after all that to return to the beautiful peaceful old world charm of Niagara-on-the-lake and all the amenities at the Prince of Wales Hotel. When your stay comes to an end, it is definitely a "Happy ever after."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Caledon

Fabulous as always.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: I like everything.
I don't usually stay during high season but it was for a special birthday. Our room was stunning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hamilton, ontario

Honeymoon from heaven

Posted Jul 30, 2014
I had an amAzing time at the Prince of Wales hotel. I felt like I was brought back in time. The hotel is stunning and has a ton to do! It was our honeymoon so we tried to get as much done as possible. We had tea at noon, used the spa, went for dinner and used the facilitates at the pillar and post. It was a great stay and we will definitely be back :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel and right on the main street

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Pros: The charm, the location, and the excellent staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Main street shopping, wine country, Niagara Falls.
Fantastic staff, all eager to please. They worked every moment to make sure our stay was perfect!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to the standards in the area

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We stayed in a "deluxe" room for a last minute getaway, as our usual choices (Harbor House, Q124) were all full. We had stayed at other Vintage properties like Queen's Landing or the Pillar and Post before and we assumed the Prince of Wales would be similar. This was a bad assumption. 1. The product: We were booked into a separate small building off of the main hotel (room 116). While clean and large, the air conditioning in the room was not up to snuff, the ceiling fan was broken (the motor has been ordered we were told, so I feel a lot better!), and bizarrely there is a window at ground height that has no covering. Since it looks in over the kitchen and directly to the bed, we almost took maintenance up on their offer to tape a pillowcase to the window like they have done for other guests. This seemed bizarre at a "luxury" hotel to have the same problem not go addressed. Oh and there was no wireless internet in the room. Because, you know, people never use the Internet when on a vacation in a wine region. 2. The service was okay but we asked for a car to pick us for s reservation, and after 15 minutes of waiting it turned out they had not arranged for it at all. Eventually we just got a taxi on the street and were late. The bar closed at 11, and the servers were not friendly at all. We were at the bar commiserating with another couple on how bad both of our stays were. We prefer to stay elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elora, On

Close to everything...we loved it

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We were in aw at the beautiful historic building and furnishings...well kept and clean rooms...would highly recommend to friends and family...would certainly stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

biking in wine country

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: excellent staff. Although I parked my own car JP was a great help with area info.
Cons: Just unscrew the windows in this cottage room.
Location: Two days riding around to wineries, historic places and scenery galore. You must get around by bike to really enjoy the area.
my wife and I stayed for two nights and rode our bikes around to the wineries, also rode to Niagara Falls (recommended) on the Parkway trail and back. A scenic and interesting ride. Arrived at the hotel and were surprised to find the traditional room I booked online the day before was not in the hotel, but in a little cottage the hotel owns about 100 yards away facing a side street. We were a little disappointed at first but the room quickly grew on us. It was a good size, had a gas fireplace (we used one night), a large bath with separate shower and a front porch with two chairs for morning coffee and evening sitting with wine. Very nice. This turned out to be a very nice, quiet room away from the busy hotel. The only downside, no wifi in this room (available in the hotel lobby) and the windows were screwed shut. I would prefer the night air to the typical A/C unit they have (noisy) in the room. Unscrew the windows please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from waterloo

Very elegant hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Everything!!!!
Location: Shaw Festival, ghost walk, fort George, wine tasting tours
Early check-in, lovely room suite, excellent service, excellent staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Hotel is lovely but not worth the price

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Atmosphere
Cons: Room wasn't ready at 3:00, hallways way too cold, better signage for getting around.
Location: Great location in a beautiful little town. Be sure to see plays as they are top notch. Biking up the Niagara Parkway is great. So much to do in the.
Getting to rooms is a maze, hallways were freezing, hotel restaurant is VERY expensive. With so many lovely b bad b's in town it is not worth the price to stay here in my opinion.