Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Excellent midrange hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Clean and comfortable with large rooms for the money. Staff were very helpful and access to the hotel amenities next door (pool, jacuzzi) was great. 11 euro breakfast was also very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northwest-england

Relaxing break- hotel staff very welcoming,.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The nice room on floor 5 and the great little balcony-the showeroom/bathroom was newly decorated and has a very shower incl the hairdryer and soaps.
Cons: The price of breakfast was expensive @ 11 euros. It would be great if tea /coffee/kettle is placed in the rooms .
Location: Great location, down a side street not too noisey either. Quite easy to find get the bus 98 from the airport-buy ticket first @ 6 euros each,
The staff were very polite, helpful and spoke various languages. The hotel is well placed in between the beach- near the promenade and a short walk to the train station where you can catch the train-quite cheap- to Monaco (make sure you get your train tickets validated before boarding the train). THERE IS A LOVELY SUPERMARKET AT THE BACK OF THE HOTEL FOR DRINKS etc and also a great little patisserie for fresh croissaunts, cakes and salad rolls. ALSO there is a little coffee machine inside the patisserie and you can get various coffee's for 1euro. This is very useful if you are not booked into the hotel for breakfast. The best experience was that the sister hotel - next door-The Splendid - has a lovely jaccuzi & small pool which you are allowed to use along with the sunbeds and chill out areas.ONCE ON THE BUS 98 look for" Congress" bus stop, 7 stops down the road near the casino & information centre.Hotel is behind info centre a short walk. Will definatley be going again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character, Comfort, Convenient

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The character and it was very comfortable, staff were excellent.
Cons: The shower, needs a safe in the room.
Location: Very central to Nice
Excellent hotel ten minutes from the water and the train station. We had a corner room 504 which had plenty of room, shower over the bath needed attention but other than that excellent. They own the Splendid Hotel 50m away which you can use for the pool etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by mary from Auckland nz

Great location,

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose this hotel for a quick overnight stop. The location central. Staff very helpful. Big room! It was a little 'tired'.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PG from London

Nice staff

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Extremely helpful and friendly staff- one of our tour guides did not come on time and the gentleman at reception called them and arranged for them to pick us up even though we had not booked the tour from the hotel. We were offered free breakfast on the day we arrived while we were waiting for the room to be available. Good location- easily reachable from the airport and the train station. Nice spacious bathroom.Good breakfast. 10 min walk from the beach. Cons: Had a very compact room with a massive balcony- a bigger room with a smaller balcony would have been better. No tea/ coffee making facilities, the hair dryer was not working properly but not repaired on request.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Laura from Baltimore, MD

Hotel Very Nice in Nice

Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was overall very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast for 11 Euros was WELL worth the money and included a lot of hot and cold food choices. The room was the biggest we had stayed in while in Europe, which is saying something. Our one complaint is that there is no shower - only a bathtub with a hand held shower hose, but no shower curtain. This made it impossible to take a shower without getting water all over the place, so we resorted to bathing in a very tiny tub.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from San Francisco

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: A bit dated, could use some refurbishment
We stayed here for one night. It was a nice stay. It is within walking distance to both the beach and the train station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by fyldelass from London

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable hotel with exceptional and friendly staff. Perfectly situated for walking to the centre, to the promenade or to restaurants. All areas of the property were very clean which is important. I would highly recommend the Gounod to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carole & Gilles from Ottawa, Canada

Great location.

Posted Oct 14, 2013
The upgraded bathroom was a pleasure! Staff was very helpful! Overall great visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable for one night only

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Was acceptable for one night, shower screen was missing so had to hose down, no safe in room, breakfast was extra, but on plus side, had free parking, room was clean and staff friendly