Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Eric from Chatsworth, California

Here For the 100th Tour de France

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Now I Know what Every talks about when They Small Europe Room.... WOW...This one is The Small I have Ever been In And at This Point I have Spent 5 weeks in Europe over that Last 15 Months on Three Different Vacations... Although this Room was Tiny Small The Bed was Comfy Expect the Floor was Going Downhill...So I sleep Turn with My Feet up Against the Headboard... As I said in My Title I was Here for the Tour de France so I Didn't Really Care what My Room was Like. I had a Good WiFi Connected at Night the Shower again Small Like the Rest of the Room did it's Job :)...But the Best Thing about The Hotel was the Night Clerk at the Front Desk Wish I remember His Name... He was AWESOME in Telling MEE Place to Eat and Info on the Train Station just up the Block... He even try to Google the Route for the Race for MEE That Just Made my Stay here Very Good :) for the Two Night that the 100th Anniversary of the Tour de France was in Town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by papis from montreal

good for a 3 stars hotel

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is good for people who dont mind small european rooms hôtels. I will recommand it for short trips. The room was clean enough and the staff kind and helping. The location is close to the railway station and the main boulevard (10 minutes walk).Overall good enough for a 3 stars hotel. If you're looking for big rooms and more comfort try a 4 stars or more hôtels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands, UK

Clean,friendly hotel. Excellent location

Posted May 29, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness & location
Location: 5 minute walk to train station, 5 minute walk to bus station for journey to/from airport. 15 walk to front/beach.
Don't be put off by the negative comments from other people about this hotel. OK, so it's very basic but it was clean, had a comfy bed, a safe (free), balcony, tv, shower gels and soaps provided. I emailed the hotel a few days before we arrived and asked for a high floor. We were given a room on the 6th floor which we were pleased about. It was very quiet and it was hard to believe that the hotel was full. I can't comment on the restaurant as we didn't use it, there were plenty of cheap places to eat out at. We travelled to Nice for the F1 in Monaco and we couldn't have been situated any better, just a 5 min walk to the train station. Monaco is a 20 minute journey away (costs about 14euros). The front/beach is a 15 min walk. The bus stop back to the airport was also by the train station and took 15 mins. As with any city and especially near a train station there were a few tramps but only a couple. We also felt safe at night walking back to the hotel, although we weren't out later than 10pm as we packed as much into our days over the F1 weekend and were too tired to stay out too late! We were asked by an older couple if we could give them some money for food, but the trick is to just ignore them and keep walking, then they move on and try it on with someone else...nothing threatening though. I highly recommend this hotel, it suited us as a base however if you're the kind of person that likes to lounge around in your room alot then maybe try somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rico from Cambridge

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely staff very helpful! Good location rooms ok shower was very good just wish the bed was a little more comfortable but we slept ok so can't complain too much
2 out of 5
by Anna

You get what you pay for.

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: The room was quiet and small but comfortable. The bathroom was clean and up to date--though the hot water came and went while showering.
Cons: The lobby was extremely shabby looking. An update on the "upholstery" would work wonders. The elevator can really only hold 1 person and bags at once.
Location: Convenient to train station. We easily walked to better part of town for restaurants and could have easily walked to the waterside.
We chose the hotel because it was conveniently located near the railroad station, and we were just going to be there overnight before flying home--and because the price was right. We weren't expecting luxury, but it was a bit shabbier than anticipated. Coming out of the station, you turn right on Thiers and walk through a "questionable" area for several blocks to reach it. The room was small and had no closets--just a metal framework (the kind that usually goes inside closets) that covered the wall opposite the beds. That was where you hung or stored your clothes. The free Wi-Fi didn't work in our room but was quite reliable in the lobby. The elevator was "lightweight." We two people with our bags had to use it separately. The desk clerks, while not overly friendly, spoke English and were helpful in calling a cab for us, etc. We did not buy the breakfast, which was sold separately. Despite our initial impressions, we actually had a restful night and the room was clean and the beds were comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2012
Hotel was good value for the money. Our room was comfortable but the air conditioning was not working, not even a fan. We closed all the curtains on the second day and the room was more bearable. It was reasonably quiet and close to station and all public transport. Good hotel if you are out sightseeing all day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the cost

Posted Jul 3, 2012
Way too old. Needs renovations!!! The people are nice and the location is practical but the accomodations need to fit our era, especially considering the price.
1 out of 5
by JeffnD from Atlanta, GA, USA

Close but not comfortable.

Posted Apr 23, 2012
Pros: Reception staff was helpful and understood my broken French. Very kind.
Cons: Beds. Noise
Location: Close to train station. Saw someone's luggage possibly stolen, being dropped by trash bin.
Front desk was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. Walls are paper thin. Location a bit sketchy. Cleaning staff was incredibly loud during early morning hours. Convenient to train station but not a place I would recommend for more than 1 night. Felt like we were camping on the ground but not as comfortable. Horribly hard beds and non existent pillows. No air conditioning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rikky from London, UK

Superb Staff!

Posted Feb 20, 2012
Pros: We loved the balcony!
Cons: the shower dripped over our heads - no pressure - worse than a tap
Location: the location was ideal - right next to the train station and 15 minutes walk from the sea front!
The staff were really accomadating and helpful. The bedroom was very clean and the room service was tops! the beds were a bit narrow and a bit springy and there was a problem with hot water and the pressure of the shower - it was literally a drip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Would Recommend

Posted Jul 19, 2011
Not a fancy hotel, but extremely clean and reliable. The staff was very helpful. The location is 2 blocks from the train station and 10 minutes (walking) from the beach, so overall a good location (although the train station can be a little creepy late at night so just use common sense if you're out late.). The hotel room was quiet and I slept well. I definitely recommend for the price, quality and location.