Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK Manchester

Hotel Dante

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Staff very helpful
Cons: Walls are paper thin surprisingly for such an old building
Location: Nice - what more can I say??
I stay in Nice a lot and this hotel was a little shabby sadly. The important things were right in that the room was clean and the staff excellent. It's half a mile from the promenade which is ideal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Touristico2013

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
The overall state of the hotel is tired and needs a bit of restoration. However the staff were friendly, and were willing to help as our time there was ruined by a noisy person next to our hotel room who liked to have his tv and or radio on all night. The walls are paper thin and EVERYTHING can be heard, so you would do well with some earplugs if you are a light sleeper. The location is great, as its only a 15/20 minute walk from the Nice train station, and is only 5 mins from the beach. The room we had had air con which was fantastic in the heat of summer.
2 out of 5
by Annefrom Toronto, ON, Canada

Disappointing experience

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: Air conditioned
Cons: Condition of the room
Location: Close to the sea, shopping and restaurants
The rooms were extremely small, the bathroom grout on the tiles were mouldy, paint was peeling. There was no shower, just a tub. The room needs a total renovation. As a travel agent, I certainly would not recommend this hotel. On the plus side, it did have air conditioning and the location was great, close to the sea, shopping and restaurants, all within walking distance.
3 out of 5
by Mikefrom Henderson, NV

Near The Sea But Not A Resort

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Cons: The desk clerks need their training upgraded to be more customer sensitive.
Location: The hotel is located about 3 streets north of the promenade providing easy access for bicycle rentals, eating, sunning, and the airport bus..
I checked in during the day and then went out and about the city. When I returned in the evening I realized that the air conditioner was not working. The evenings were hot and humid. An open window did not help. My room was changed to something similar, but even though the hotel was not fully booked, they insisted I return to the original room once the maintenance work was completed. This was very inconvenient but I complied with the request. They offered no consideration. Other issues are that the shower/toilet area was quite compact and that the shower drained very slowly. My pillow was very lumpy and the bed mattress quite hard. I think 2 stars is a bit liberal for this place. The location is convenient but commercial rather than tourist-oriented. Nearby Gambetta is a busy street with assorted eateries, shops, a supermarket and nightlife activities. The hotel has Wi-Fi but you might need help signing on. If you want breakfast you need to place an order the night before.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

I do reckomend

Posted Jun 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff!!! Berakfast was served in room. Bed was clean and towels were changed frequently. Toilet was fairy clean. If you don't mind not high standard I really do reckomend hotel Dante.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not great

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Frendly staff
Cons: Unclean and rundown
Location: Not a nice area
It isn't in a nice area (still 5mins walk to the beach, but not nice), the rooms are small and old/smelly, the shower is just a hose connected to the tap (not the wall), no shower curtain, tiles broken everywhere and very unconfortable beds. The only saving grace is the guy at the front desk speaks English well and he is very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel within short walk to beach

Posted Jun 9, 2013
Pros: Location! Friendly staff who are always very accomodating.
Cons: The bathrooms were showing some wear and tear but everything was fully functional
Location: 5 min walk to the beach. Great boulangerie 5 min north on Gambetta.
Very welcoming hotel staff who speak some english. Provide beach mats, towels and books that can be borrowed. The location is great - within 5 min walk to the beach. Located off a major street with multiple grocery stores, patisseries, boulangeries and restaurants. About a 20 min walk to the old town and major shopping streets. Great security. They always have someone at the desk.
2 out of 5
by Ch0109from Los Angeles

Overpriced

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Way too overpriced for a glorified hostel. There was a bug in our bathtub. The staff was really friendly and helpful but the overall condition of the hotel is far worth 300 usd. I was in a jam and I would never stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by puentnerfrom zurich

a meeting place for cultures

Posted May 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
hmmm, what will you expect for 50 bucks? The only negative thing is the rooms are not "so" clean, the floor is somehow "sticky" but the staff is cool and the wifi free. (but no in the rooms only in the lobby) Close to the sea, and 10 min walk to shops and old town. the are is not "so" chic for Nice, but we cameby motorcycles and stayed overnight. So good for one night or two.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Cris

not happy at all

Posted Dec 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very poor hotel for 2 star.