Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Good Location, clean...but noisy!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location, near all major attractions and local amenities. Clean. Let us check in 2 or 3 hours earlier than expected. Felt central and in amongst it.
Cons: TV channels French not one English speaking one. Curtains didn't cover windows and let a lot of street light in. Soundproofing poor to noisy street.
Location: Great location, near everything you could want, park, Old Town, harbour, shops, 10 min walk from train station, 2 mins from Promenade etc
Stayed 4 nights, 5 days in October 2014, 2 adults, 2 children. Great location, 2 mins from the Promenade, halfway between Old Town/Harbour and The Negresco. Having not booked breakfast, we never used staff other than picking up door card (they allowed us to book in 2-3 hours early which was great) and handing it back in, other than booking a taxi for the airport the night before which was all done efficiently. Room was clean, 2 queen beds, corner dual aspect looking out to two busy streets. Loved being in amongst French streets and nice to look out, however, the downside of this was that it was very noisy all through the night with streets being cleaned and bars. This was even with the double glazed windows fully shut. Also the curtains didn't cover the windows all the way and a lot of street light got in. If you are a heavy sleeper then it will be great, if like me you find it hard sleeping it will affect you on both counts. The only other gripe was that there was not one English speaking TV channel of the many channels, even the News in English would have been a plus. Hotel is very near amenities such as banks, post offices, taxi ranks, small supermarkets, cafes and so on. I would come back to this hotel despite my relatively minor gripes as the positives outweighed the negatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Very convenient for everything

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Quiet and very clean.
Cons: Small wardrobe for couple staying longer than a day or two.
Location: Central locations for walking promenade, restaurants,buses etc
This was our second stay at this hotel. Helpful, friendly staff. Breakfast very good. Central to all amenities. Very clean. Good bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2014
My daughter and her friends really enjoyed their weekend stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable. You can't beat the location( two blocks from the beach and Old Nice). Great hotel for the price!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Russia

Hotel in Nice

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Nice hotel. Some rooms have sea-view. Located in the center of tourist-area, beaches 3 minutes slow walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
very good location. Room are clean. For French conditions and the price I would say a good experience. In General the staff was helpful except for the fact that they forgot to tell us (despite our clear query about parking) they have a deal with a parking so we paid 25 Euros parking fees instead of 8 Euros
2 out of 5
Recommended
by daydayfrom UK

Good Location Bad Room

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was freindly and seemed to be in a perfect location not far from retaurants beach and many attractions. The problem is that if you book a 1 person single room - you will find that the rooms are tiny and dont have much light - the windows are frosted and if you open you stare at the other side of the hotel. Felt claustraphobic and seemed expensive for it all. Bathroom was also super tiny - Shower makes it diffuclt even for one very tiny person to be comfortable. I would have switched to the bigger rooms but the rates at the time seemed too high so i switched to another place in the end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alanfrom CA

Great hotel location. Poor internet.AC didn't work

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel. Can't beat the location. They need to work on wifi strength as it cuts off frequently. Also AC didn't work but they gave us small discount.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Nickfrom Canada

Hotel loud and disappointed with comfort

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would have given a 2.5 stars but I could not round it up at 3 stars for this kind of hotel. We were there summer 2014 and paid 261$/night. I would not stay there again. CONS: busy and I mean busy very busy street(we were there during summer and the street was packed with pedestrians), lots of noise on the street below till 1h00-2h00 AM on saturday and sunday night, one lane and one way street so don't even think about double parking, no valet parking, no place to park to unload luggages from the car, tiny and stupid elevator(You'll see if you go and you'll think of me. Not enough characters allowed to explain it well.), a small desk but no chairs, dirty blankets, queen size bed but with single bed sheets, not soundproof between rooms but pretty good soundproof with the outside. PROS: well located, lots of restaurants around, close to promenade des anglais(beach front), public parking pretty close(around 250 meters) at 23 euros/24 hours, safe in the room, cheap I guess, small grocery store and small coffee shop really close(around 50 meters and open at 8h00 in the morning), room size ok
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LDfrom USA

Not happy with Hotel de Suede

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading previous reviews regarding the windows on the higher floors, I was hesitant to make our reservation at Hotel de Suede. The location of the hotel swayed my decision. When I made our reservation with Hotels.com I requested a room on a lower floor in an attempt to avoid the window problem. Our room request was granted. The room was on the first floor and the window view was great. The problem was the bathroom. The toilet was wedged in a corner with the shower directly on the right side of the toilet and the sink directly in front of the toilet. It was practically impossible to even sit on the toilet. We asked for a different room, and according to the clerk at the front desk, there was only one other room available. This room was on the 4th floor. The only window was tinted. Consequently, the room was very dark. We inquired about some type of compensation, possibly complimentary breakfast for the two night stay. We were told the manager would not be in until the next morning, and only the manager could approve the complimentary breakfast. The next morning came and went with no contact from the manager. When we inquired, we were told the manager would not be in that day either. You can imagine our disgust when the same thing happened the next morning as well. As time went on, we got the distinct impression the we were not told the truth from beginning to the end of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chelmsford, Essex

Great location for everything we wanted

Posted Aug 2, 2014
I picked this hotel for its great location for the beach, shopping and a short, pleasant walk to Old Town. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast (though extra) was ample and a great start to the day.