Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Posted Sep 17, 2014
This hotel is OVERRATED AND OVER PRICED! On the plus side, the staff is very nice, and the location is good. Now the minus... The hotel is awkward. There are a few buildings and often you need to take 2 different elevators to get from one place to another. Everywhere you go, there are stairs and sometimes you have no option. To get to the dining room, you walk down a flight; to get to the pool, you walk up a fight. The hotel needs to redone as it is quite shabby. At 1/2 the price it might be OK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely, quirky hotel with much style and beautiful

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The hotel is a hidden gem-full of interesting nooks and crannies but with many luxurious features.
Cons: Receptionist on check-out was not particularly friendly-unlike the lovely staff there on check-in. Would have liked a room with better sea view
Location: At far end of Promenade des Anglais, near old town. Quiet but with easy access to lots of restaurants and museums/entertainments. Gorgeous views
We only stayed one night but wished we had booked to stay longer . A beautiful place, full of character and in a tremendous position. We were so impressed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel close to main attractions

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: View and silence
Cons: The only downside is in our reservation the breakfast was not included and for this price I would have expect this to be part of the service.
Location: Museums (modern art museum is very nice), Vieux Nice, restaurants, sea, parks...a lot
At first we were a bit scare because the hotel is beside a main road (road along the sea) but in fact the building is inside and with a view on the sea we could not hear a noise so we were very pleased. The hotel is in walking distance of the vieux Nice which is very nice with access to restaurants, museums, parks... Staff was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Good hotel, good location but no wifi

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Rooms are clean and beautiful
Cons: Very small hotel and not as luxourious as their description
Advertised free wifi - but it does not work. You can have it if you pay though. Hotel clean but probably not worth its price tag.............
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yellowleader from London

Lovely introduction to Nice sea front.

Posted Jul 1, 2014
We arrived late (after midnight) but reception was very friendly and helpful. Actual hotel set back from the main seafront, so you do not hear all the Saturday night party noise (great to be a part of, but lovely to be away from afterwards!). Room and bathroom felt very luxurious. Cute balcony.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from Los Angeles

Great Location for a Price

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
As part of our honeymoon, we chose to stay at Hotel La Perouse during our stay in Nice, France. While the staff was friendly, we will never stay here again, nor would we recommend it to our friends. When we first arrived at this hotel, we were escorted to room 110. Seeing that this room: was much smaller than pictured online, smelled musty and that when we opened our window we were facing a wall with the sound of a rather loud generator or fan, we immediately called to see if there was another room available. We were told that the hotel was fully booked, but there was an upgrade available the next night for a much higher rate. The first 2 nights were unacceptable. From around 6p-10p at night and 5a-10a in the mornings, right outside of our door were carts were being wheeled back and forth, dishes, glasses and silverware clinking, there was what sounded like a doorbell ringing every 30 seconds, what sounded like a refrigerator door opening and closing, people walking back and forth and people running up and down the stairs. The floors are all tiled so the sound is magnified. We were also surprised that there was no luggage rack and that there was no holder for the shower hose. You had to hold the hose above you while you showered. On the third day, I called to complain and they moved us to a room with a balcony which was nicer. While this room was nicer, the lights flickered the entire time when turned on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Zabi from England

Quiet hotel on Nice's busy promenade, heated pool

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: The swimming pool and dining area, so serene, beautiful and lovely staff. Location and views best part, proces for drinks and food worst part.
Cons: The layout of the hotel cannot be improved (it's two hotels and very confusing) but a map on checkin would help. Signs everywhere but still got lost
Location: Besides old market, near Massena Sq,shops and transport. Take bus to Monaco for E1.50 stunning views. Coffee on beach, sit for ages instead of sunbeds
We had the cheapest hotel which is 'rock view' which is not explained but is far better than it sounds. Our room (510)was built right into the rock with a balcony almost attached to the rock. Now it sounds dark but the rock is not that high and from one side came in a lot of sun and it was possible to sunbathe. besides that the rock was covered in lovely plant life and flowers. If I stood on a chair on tip toes (I'm not tall) I even had sea view. We ate in the open air dining room, the food was excellent, service excellent and the wine generous but you pay for it (8 euros for a glass of wine, 4 euros tea 39 menu of the day).We had a really good deal but still quite expensive but we thought it was worth it, love to afford sea view and also probably the best view in Nice given it's quiet location. Don't even think of going if you cannot walk well unless they give you a room close to the reception because of the distance to the cheaper room. Bus to airport (98) leaves from port with little local bus outside to port, reception gives wrong info leaving a long walk or taxi fare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RuralRider from Colorado

Lovely place to spend our last night in France

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Location: Very close to old Nice and its colorful market, as well as shops and restaurants. Easy access for a stroll down the Promenade.
We splurged on this lovely hotel as a capstone to an extended time in France. Our room was well situated. The staff was welcoming, helpful and friendly. Very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tanja from Waterloo

Loved it

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Unfortunately we had only 1 night in Nice, I would recommend more as it is a truly lovely and vibrant city. I am delighted the we stayed at Hotel La Perouse. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location. Like many of the reviewers here I agree that you must book an ocean view room. It's worth it. That said, also like many of the reviewers here, make sure you get the room that you paid for. When we were shown our room, it was not as we expected or booked. There was an ocean view but there was a giant veranda from another room was in front of it, thus not really ocean view. That said, we told the gentleman who showed us the room that the room was not sufficient. He promptly contacted his manager and they moved us to a room that fit our expectation without any hassle. Stay there. It's worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Henry

Small Hotel in Nice

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Nice small hotel. Very clean, small rooms, nice restaurant, nice service for France. Well located, in walking distance to downtown and to the shopping area. Also near some tourist attractions.