Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good location and excellent views

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: View
Cons: Would have liked 3 single beds, but got two doubles. Perhaps some Tea making facilities
Location: Villefranche is absolutely lovely and location is great for visiting Monaco and Nice.
Hotel was better than I expected. Room was clean and comfortable and staff were very nice. The sea view was lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire, England

Friendly, family run hotel. 15 minutes to beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Friendly & helpful staff. Not far from the promenade, restaurants & beach areas.
Cons: Rooms need redecorating. Would like to see tea/coffee making facilities provided. Shower screens round the bath so guests can have a stand-up shower.
Location: Close to promenade, beaches, marina, restaurants, cafés. Buses (100 & 98's) only charge €1.50, which can take you from as far as Nice to Menton.
Hotel a bit dated with no hot drinks facilities in the room, but room was cleaned every day & beds & towels changed. Wide variety on the breakfast buffet, plenty to fill yourself up on to last well into the afternoon. Staff very friendly, helpful & accommodating. Wi-fi isn't free but there's a computer with wi-fi for visitors to use, free of charge. Iron & ironing board for visitors use. Family rooms available. One family even brought their dog.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel for all amenities

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Only stayed one night before joining language course. Very comfortable clean room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, convenient for restaurants

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Cons: The breakfast could be reduced in price to reflect the selection of food on offer
Good location, very clean, excellent staff, rooms and bathrooms on the small side, breakfast a little disappointing for the price (18 euro's per person for bread, jam and cheese!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2014 by LAURENCE, Hotel Management
Dear Customer, I think you're wrong. Our breakfast "BUFFET" at will is priced at € 11 (not 18 €). Hot drink: coffee, tea or chocolate. Pastries, french bread, bread, cake or brioche. Cheese and charcuterie Fruit salad Various jams, butter. Yaout nature and fruits. Corn flake. Orange juice and grapefruit juice. Hope to see you again in our hotel, Best regards, Laurence
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by J from UK

Villefranche sur Mer

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Large airy room with seafacing balcony. French windows with full length shutters which can be closed at night rather than the doors.
Cons: None
Location: Nice beaches and coastal path around nearby Cap Ferrat Several good restaurants right on the sea edge.
Second stay at this hotel so already knew the facilities and what to expect. We enjoyed staying there previously so chose it again. We knew not to expect a fridge in the room or anything beyond a standard room with adequate facilites. But, we spend little time in the hotel room itself so suits us fine. The staff are really friendly and helpful - English speaking which is helpful although one of us speaks French.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Laurel, Ms.

A week at the Hotel Provencal

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Great location, sea views avalible, wonderful breakfasts, courteous and helpful staff, reasonable prices
Cons: I like it the way it is. It has a very relaxing atmosphere.
Location: The hotel is near the bus stop, which serves all towns along the coast; it is about a 10 minute walk to the harbor and about 15 minutes to the train.
I recently spent a week here with two friends. This was our third stay, and my fifth. It is a delightful and quintessentially French hotel which we love to revisit. Breakfast on their outdoor terrace, under the orange trees, is a real pleasure not to be missed. The location is perfect, and there are rooms with fabulous views of the water and the mountains.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jonny, Kate and Denis from Tyneside

Good Value

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is our 2nd stay at this charming old style Hotel, we even got the same room. On this occasion we had my elderly father so he got the better bedroom, which has been nicely refurbed, whilst our room still has not been done it is perfectly adequate, spacious and has a very spacious bathroom, and small balcony overlooking the garden. Only 2 minor gripes, our bed is two singles pushed together and is unconfortable for couples used to a double. watch out for the v.high pressure shower which doesnt stay on its too low mounting pole. Being by the main road gives easy access to the buses to Nice and Monaco and beyond, but its a struggle back up the hill from the old village and harbour but its worth that effort even for my old man.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by marianne

Good hotel for a short stay in Villefranche

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: The location, the beds and the breakfast.
Cons: The state of the room ( carpet, walls ).
Location: A good choice of restaurants.Easy train and bus connections. The Villa Ephrusssi de Rothschild on Cap Ferrat is easy to get to by bus.
We stayed here 2 nights and had no complaints. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is very good, with a nice view from our room. The bathroom was big with a shower in the bad. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The room itself needs updating, especially the carpet. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and lovely fresh pastries, and the courtyard a lovely setting to have this in. We would not hesitate to use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from UK

Slightly shabby hotel in a great location

Posted May 12, 2014
Pros: Location. Character. Staff Cleanliness
Cons: Our room would have benefitted from some refurbishment but the hotel would be spoilt if it lost its character.
Location: Villefranche retains a fishing village feel. Great restaurants, lovely bay. We went walking and took trips on the train.
Staff were friendly and accommodating . All spoke good English and were very helpful. The room we had was very clean but in need of some refurbishment. The hotel had character. Great balcony, good sea view over the rooftops. Breakfast in the garden was charming.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by davidc from london

Modernisation required

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is tired new decoration and renovation is needed in the rooms and public areas.Breakfast overpriced so we avoided.They actually painted the front door and paint was wet in May ? Better to carry out work in off season.The entry on hotels .com about wifi is misleading it costs 9.50 per day through an Orange pass and it doesn't work properly the hotel should install free wifi now as it's the norm.If you are driving the map on the website is useless the hotel is also far from the sncf station all in all 115 a night is too much even for triple occupancy fully renovated it might be a fair price.Staff were generally helpful and the junior recptionist is from Moscow area helpful if your wife speaks Russian