Ratings based on 154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quality hotel close to everything

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Location, food, rooms
Cons: customer service
Stayed here for 3 nights in mid-June 2015 in both suites at the back of the hotel grounds. The rooms were clean and well maintained and had space for 3-4 people to sleep comfortably. Our family of 6 had plenty of space. These suites look like a new addition and were better than I had expected with very good showers and decent beds. I've stayed in other hotels in Nice and these rooms were much better than I expected. Location was ideal. Walking distance from the beach (20 min?), old town (15 min?) and right beside the station where there are car hire options. Breakfast was very nice and obviously directed to US visitors in terms of the choice of food options. No complaints from my 4 kids that pancakes were on the menu every day. My only complaint was that the staff were a little unhelpful upon check-in. I asked whether I could get some advice about car hire options. I was told that a better option was to chose a personal tour guide and vehicle which was about 400 Euros for half a day. Even when I told them that I would rather hire a car and drive myself, the tour option was pushed a little harder. When I told them I wasn't interested in that option and would like to know more about car hire, I got an unhelpful, "you'll have to sort that out yourself" response. I suspect they get some sort of kick-back from the tour company but it was a little disappointing that customer service wasn't better. As it turned out, it was easy to walk up to the station and sort our car hire
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Decent hotel, bad WiFi was a pain

Posted Jun 28, 2015
The staff were friendly and it was a reasonably short walk to town with decent enough rooms - but there were a few annoying things: WiFi reception did not reach my room properly even though I was close to the main office, the bathrooms were a bit odd with no stall around the showers (leading to everything getting soaked) and there were not really enough towels given.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good hotel close to the train station.

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Pros: Position suited us and the room was quiet.
Cons: The WC was very small, the room was somewhat small.
Location: Close to the train station and the main shopping street.
This hotel was chosen for its position near the railway station at Nice and because of previous ratings. We were not disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel in a great location

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: Coffee and tea facilities in the room
Location: Located just 2 minutes walk from the station. Great restaurants such as Zen and Wok2Nice nearby
Hotel was very conveniently located just a short walk from the station in a nice road with good restaurants nearby. Hotel was very nice and staff were excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

駅近のおしゃれなホテル

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: ・リノベーション後なのか、内装のとてもきれいでおしゃれ。部屋の冷蔵庫には冷えたシャンパングラスも2脚あり心配りが嬉しい。・アメニティがロクシタンだった!
Cons: ・バスタブがあるのはポイント高いが、シャワーカーテンがない!!!ので、お風呂ごとに洗面所の床がビショビショになって大変...。シャワーカーテンを是非つけて下さい!!・日々のアメニティの補充がもう少しあると助かる。・ハンガーが引っ掛けるだけのタイプなので、すぐ服が落ちる。普通のハンガーがいい。
Location: ニースは町並み自体が素敵で、全く飽きません。旧市街まではいい散歩コース。海岸も近く、海辺沿いをランニングするのもオススメ。朝のマルシェも必須でしょう。
今回宿泊のみで朝食利用なし。チェックイン時の対応もよく、こちらが日本人だとわかるとすぐに日本語のニース地図を手渡してくれた。駅から近いが、ちょっとわかりにくいかもしれない。
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to railway station - 5 minutes walk

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Cons: Service to customers.
We arrived early and sat in the courtyard for several hours - staff knew we were there waiting to access our rooms No one came to tell us our rooms were ready and at 3:00pm we went to reception and was told our rooms were ready. It would appear that no effort was made to make our rooms available earlier or when they were ready no one bothered to come and tell us. Very disappointing service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Jérémy Lyonnet, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking time to share your experience about your stay at the Nice Excelsior hotel. Our Check-In time is 3:00pm, it is because sometimes, some guests are coming late for Check-Out and there is a lot of work to do in orfer to give you the cleanest room you deserve. Your room was ready at 3:00pm and you came directly to the reception. We always tell our guests when the room is ready earlier and we are sorry if we were not fast enough to tell you. All the Nice Excelsior team give their best to make your stay the best we can. Thank you again for your review. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford

Centrally located hotel. Lovely staff.

Posted Jun 6, 2015
We enjoyed our stay here. Everything was clean and working well. Good location for travelling by train.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Jérémy Lyonnet, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience about your stay with us. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, it is very important for us to have your feedback about your feelings. We hope to see you next time, Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Handy to the train station

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Location, renovated
Cons: Breakfast was a bit basic
Location: Easy walk to the Esplanade
Stayed one night to catch train Easy walk to the Esplanade
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Jérémy Lyonnet, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you for taking the time to provide comments from your stay at the Nice Excelsior Hotel. It is very important for our satisfaction process, we are constantly working to ensure each guest has a memorable experience. It is true that we are close to the train station and 5 minutes walk from the main street. We hope to see you next time. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 千歳

駅に近く便利なホテル

Posted Jun 1, 2015
2泊しましたが、駅に近くとても便利なホテルでした。部屋は狭く、またシャワーを浴びると隙間から水漏れして、床が水浸しになったのは残念です。それ以外は特に悪い所は無いと思います。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
The hotel is very convenient to arriving by train and has nice facilities. The bed in our king room was very comfortable but the bathroom was quite small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by Jeremy Lyonnet, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at the Nice Excelsior. The team appreciate your positive review, it is important to us. The hotel is an old building (1898) and during our renovations we had to keep some walls for historical reasons, this is why we understand that for some rooms the toilet/bathroom can be tight, Thank you again for this comment. Best regards,