Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arizona

Wonderful view

Posted Sep 28, 2014
Pros: Super location
Cons: Better floor covering in rooms
Location: Lots of shops, restaurants and the promenade nearby
Hotel Solara is a fine inexpensive hotel in a marvelous area of Nice. I had a great view of pedestrian rue de France and enjoyed listening to music every evening that drifted up to my open windows from a nearby restaurant. The lift to the 4th floor hotel is quite small and the shower in my room was equally as small. But, for a super location is hotel is a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aldenfrom NY

Authentic hotel, boosted by balcony & location

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Hands down the staff: the owner & his family were super-helpful, balcony room excellent, over-all personal, rather than chain hotel feel.
Cons: Night revellers in the street below can be noisy (not the hotels' fault), staircase could use better lighting (bring a small flashlight)
Location: Right on the "zone pietons" pedestrian area: shops, restaurants and one block from the Nice promenade. Any boredom is your own fault.
A block back from the Promenade in Nice and light-years away from price & corporate conformity, The Hotel Solara is five floors above the pedestrian-only zone and just outside your expectations. Clean, high-ceilinged room with modern bathroom, mini-fridge and a balcony/terrace view across the rooftops and down the street of shopping/dining district. Over the railing the view is bustle and business, above is the collage of impossible blue skies and brick-red tiles of the city stretching to the hills beyond the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved Hotel Solara!

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Stayed at Hotel Solara for 3 nights and had a lovely time! The room was nice and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I definitely recommend to stay here for the perfect French experience in Nice. The location is unbeatable, with only a 3 minute walk to the water!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Morganfrom F

Homey feel close to the beach

Posted Dec 21, 2013
I loved this hotel! Guy at front desk was very helpful, great little balcony on our room. Recently remodeled bathrooms. Very clean. One block from the beach and on a main shopping road. Easy to walk everywhere in Nice from this location and very close to bus stop that has direct access to the airport. Small and slightly outdated rooms, but very cosy and I enjoyed my stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Bretfrom Raleigh

Decent and relatively low cost for the location

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a budget hotel without a lot of frills. The room had a refrigerator, but unfortunately did not have any equipment for making coffee (for example, a French press or small drip brewing machine). This ties to one of our overarching complaints about France which was we couldn't get a simple, inexpensive, big cup of coffee like is available everywhere in the US. The beds were normal, for France - small, springy and unpadded - but were fine. The room was quiet and had AC, which was appreciated since it was very hot during our visit to Nice. I'd put the room on par with an America Motel 6, but the French version. The location was great, right on the walking mall. The staff were very friendly and helpful - as good service as at any more expensive hotel. I'd recommend this hotel for budget minded travelers who are ok with a no-frills experience at a great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tracey

Fantastic staff; comfortable for family of four

Posted Jan 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a great place to stay. The staff were super helpful, even lending us umbrellas for the rain. They were very knowledgeable about how the local transport systems worked. Nice is a good location to explore other places (day trip to Cannes takes 2 hours by bus) and Monanco (about 1 hour 15 minutes) - neither are included in the public transport tickets for Nice. Wouldn't buy the Nice travel card again as they were not good value for a family of four with kids paying the same rate as adults and being unable to use them on the two day trips mentioned above. Hotel was in a great location for restaurants and waterfront. It felt like a genuine French hotel experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Johnfrom San Diego

Good Budget hotel

Posted May 23, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Carpet
Location: walking distance from most everything you want.
It is a a budget hotel, so it is what you expect. That being said, the location was excellent, since we only intended to stay around that part of town. The shower was a bit sad, but it did the job, and the carpet was odd. I am not sure quite what it was but it didn't feel good to walk on it. I would stay here again if I am looking for a lower cost place to sleep and leave my stuff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Durham

Good basic hotel good location

Posted Apr 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a 2 star and is very basic, which we knew prior to arrival but chose it for location & price. There is a bed, bathroom and tv. The balcony is great tho for having a glass of wine before heading out for evening meal. The hotel manager/owner is very friendly and helpful, I would recommend this hotel to others on a budget but looking for a central location minutes from cafes, old town & seafront
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom London

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom Rotherham England

Hotel Solara in Nice

Posted Sep 24, 2011 on Hotels.com
What seperates this hotel from others in its price range is the location, just off the Rue Massena pedestrian zone, and the service provided by the father and son owners, who were excellent. If you can afford to upgrade to a room with a terrace, so you can have breakfast on the terrace.