Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Staff a little gruff and appear to have never been asked for some standard requests before (iron, showering facilities post check-out, plug adapter, directions) but generally good value. Nice pool. Cracking view. Good food. Recently renovated room, 10 min walk to port, right on main bus line to nearby towns.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston England

Beautiful View and Excellent location,

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Thew views and location.
Cons: The friendliness of all the staff, and a more affordable breakfast and evening menu. 12 Euros for a continental breakfast isnt great!
Location: A lovely walk into Ville Franche. Every bus is 1 Euro, into Nice, or Monaco and Monte Carlo, which are all worth a visit.
Absolutely fantastic hotel with excellent views. Very expensive for breakfast and evening meals so went out for local croissants and into Ville Franche to eat which was much more cost effective. The room (seaview) was well worth the money and the location absolutely fantastic. Generally the staff were dismissive, but a couple of the younger girls on reception were lovely and incredibly helpful. If you can get over that, then I would definitely recommend this hotel. Looking forward to going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from London

Short Weekend.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: The Terrace and Views.
Cons: The Bed surrounds are dangerous as you knock your legs !.
Location: Its close to the Centre, so lots of bars etc...
Friendly and nice hotel with great views etc...............With the French Train strike, the Hotel helped us understand what was happening and made sure we had a plan to get home.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Cons: Rooms, staff and upgrade to the dining room/bar
I travel extensively around the world and see many hotel but this one was pretty disappointing. Rooms very small (I changed 3 rooms), bathroom doesn't even have shower curtains so when you take a shower water goes all over, bed take most of the space in the room, under the bed dust, staff fairly useless and when asked for a recommendation locally for restaurant the answer was... "mhhh, I dont really go out so we dont know" The only positive is a beautiful view of the harbor. Price wise, very expensive for the quality and overall comfort (I spend $300-$1000 a night without any problem) but when you spend $270/night for this poor quality is not right. We spent 4 days in Monaco at the Monaco Bay Resort which is a similar 4 star but it doesn't compare even the slightest. Don't be fooled by the photos.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Alexandra, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you for your reviews, it is always very usefull for us to understand our guests' experience. I really don't know how you paid 270€ a bedroom and found it small because at this price we have Junior Suit and 2 Communicating bedrooms only, and they are minimum 30 to 40 m2. The rooms are cleaned every day and controlled properly, but as soon as you open the windows, wind can bring easily some leaves. Concerning the bathrooms, It is our politic : we find curtains in the bathrooms very dirty in the other hotels. But thank you for your remark, we might put some windows next years. To answer your question about our standing, a family 3 stars' hotel in Villefranche sur mer can not be compared with a Palace hotel Chain in Monaco, we don't deal with the same prices neither with the same guests. We were happy to share with you our beautiful view on the bay, Kind Regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nilly from norfolk

Good hotel slightly away from town.

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Enjoyed our stay here. Rooms clean. Facilities good. Balcony lovely with sea view. Just slightly away from old town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

villefranche der mer near Nice

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Very clean and enjoyable with the balcony. Pool area very nice.
Cons: The room air conditioning. A small fridge in the room. Hotel ice machine. Some staff attitudes when being asked for ice.
Location: Much quieter than Nice but close to Nice, the airport, Manoco, Cannes and many more places in easy reach. Menton is worth a visit.
The room and bathroom were clean, the bed was comfy. It was nice to have a balcony for the views and to get some cool air as the aircon did not cool the room, our visit was 24th Apr - 01May 2014 and would think the room temp would be unbearable in the summer. Some of the staff were very friendly and helpful but with no fridge in the room and the fact it was so warm we got some odd and unhelpful comments when asking for ice to cool water in the room, I will add that we did try shops to buy some but found none. The pool was nice, warm and a good clean area and the gent at the pool was very prompt with towels and helpful positioning sun beds. There is a small car park and payed parking over the road. It was very quiet and peaceful at the hotel and only a short walk to the port area for shops and restaraunts. It was worth renting a car for the week so we could visit areas up and down the coast but you could enjoy a quiet time here and not miss travelling around
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Alexandra, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for review it is very helpful for us to understand your needs. I am sorry for the air conditionned, we could have fixed that very quickly if we had known. And also, we have mini-bar on demand at your disposal... sorry you did not know about it. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you soon in Villefranche, Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicki from Iowa

Amazing view of the sea

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Terrific hotel with a great location for exploring the riviera if you have a car. The only drawback was no shower in the bathroom. Had a tub with a hand sprayer but it worked OK. The view from the balcony was wonderful. It was only a 15 minute walk to the town and many excellent restaurants. It is also possible to walk to Cap Ferrat from a trail on the beach. We would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Tracey from Alexandria, va

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Gotta love the views! This is a nice hotel, with some nice upgrades, but it still seems dated. But really, that's okay since the views make up for it. The outdoor space is exceptional. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Celia from kent

Lovely views from hotel rooms.

Posted Sep 21, 2013
Enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Lovely situation. Restaurant was quite expensive. Waiter at breakfast wasn't very helpful. In fact there was no communication. We would go back to this hotel. A delightful area of France.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Franco

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2013 on Hotels.com