Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fresh air - not possible

Posted Mar 6, 2015
The atmosphere of the room,the bed and the shower are good. BUT we lucky guys hab a window to the Street but we couldn't open the window, there is no possibility to open the Windows. Also in the bathroom is no window. Happy breathing! Many rooms habe a window to the floor, not to the street, that's why I call us lucky guys. There is no chill out area for the visitors just a Restaurant. Good: You can use the really nice pool oft an other hotel!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, but noisy. Surprise key deposit

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The hotel is right in the centre of Montezuma, so you can't beat the location. It's a quick five minute walk to the main beach. Guests also have access to the sister Ylang Ylang resort's pool, but be warned -- it's another 15 minute walk or so, which sounds fine in theory but can be harder under mid-day sun on scorching sand. It's also worth noting that the hotel has a $100 key deposit -- you obviously get your money back, but this surprisingly large deposit is not listed anywhere on Expedia or on the hotel website
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Petersburg FL

Convenient location

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Convenience.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Beach, beach, beach.
We had a great room with a window (overlooking the roof, however) but the couple we were with had a smaller room with a window painted on the wall. We were happy, they were not. We found the hotel a great place to stay for the money. Montezuma doesn't have many options, but even if there were we would consider this hotel. We found it quiet at night and the movies they show a nice alternative for the evening. We ate at other restaurants but liked theirs the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by brucefrom Austin, TX

Fun place

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Wonderful service, location and value!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

El Sano Banano Village Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Staff were very helpful and courteous. Breakfasts and food was great.Room would be better if it had a small fridge to keep water and drinks cold. Having natural light would be an asset. Overall stay was very enjoyable and being able to use the facilities at Ylang Ylang Beach Resort was an asset. Overall our stay was enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alisonfrom Minnesota

Great Hotel and even better food!

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels.com
I love this hotel. I've stayed here a couple of times now and I hope to go back. The staff is friendly and the food is amazing. The price is great and the location is central to all of Montezuma. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, make sure to go for the food and movie shown in the evenings. So much fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pensacola Beach

Great hotel, right downtown

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: People, food, room, hot water, air conditioning all worked great.
Cons: Ventilation in the bathroom.
Location: Great food throughout town, lots of adventure options but be very careful who you work with.
Montezuma is definitely a funky place. This hotel was a great find. Moderate price, great staff, great food, really good hot water and water pressure, cold air conditioning. If you want a view from your room, this is not the place for you, windows open on walls or interior spaces. However, this makes the rooms very quiet and keeps them cool. Beds were very comfortable, reasonable pillows. Decor is Flintstones meets the rainforest, you feel a bit in a cave, but the murals are nice. Room comes with access to their sister resort, Ylang-ylang. Down the beach a walk, more than twice as expensive, absolutely spectacular but small pool. Great lizards, and monkeys wandering by. Don't pass on going over. Be very careful of the tour arrangers in town multiple reports of ripoffs, particularly on ATV rentals keeping your deposit by claiming damage. We had problems with the one across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, alberta

Perfect hotel in "downtown" montezuma

Posted Jan 14, 2015
We had a wonderful stay here. It's right downtown (which is basically just a road) but is not noisy at all! The staff were so great - very welcoming and friendly every time we saw them. The breakfast is great - you get to pick off of a menu of ~10 items (the banana pancakes were the best) with a drink as well. We didn't eat at the restaurant because there were other great cheaper places in town (soda monte sol is highly recommended). The best part of this hotel is that you pay minimal amounts and get to go to ylang ylang (very fancy resort) to use their beautiful pool when you get sick of the beach!! Overall and excellent experience and I would stay here again for site!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 12, 2015 on Hotels.com