Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One of many places to avoid on Grand Avenue

Posted Feb 3, 2013
Cost was high to begin with; not worth it. Internet not functional, staff not helpful. We went across street to Time Motel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Truck Driver Wh

Would Stay here Again

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: Cable Channel Choices
Cons: The Smell... Although a Non-Smoking Room, The evidence is still there
There was No Microwave & No Refrigerator in My Room #128... Other than that, Everything was to be expected for the Price
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from NY

Great Price....

Posted Dec 4, 2011
The manager was extremely nice and helpful with directions and advice on surrounding locations. Great price if you plan on staying for an extended period of time. Internet connectoin was good as well as all appliances in the room. I would suggest the El Dorado to anyone.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Texas

Motel review

Posted Nov 28, 2011
Location: The location of the motel to the border and the shops was great if I was traveling for vacation, it was walking distance to both.
I was not satisfied with the overall condition of the motel, it needed additional work to be completed, I came in late and tired and needed a hot shower, and had no hot water. The rooms were clean and the Owner was real friendly and worked with me finding the places I needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Expensive and Bad Hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2011
Price is too high for the quality of hotel: -The room smells of spout -They offer continental breakfast, but do not serve it -The facilities are ugly and old They have a good location but there are other hotels surronding.. any other hotel is prefered than this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Fine for a night but would rather stay elsewhere

Posted Sep 4, 2011
When I turned on the light to the room I had to flick the switch several times to get the light to stay on. The light in the bathroom was a strobe light. The sink faucet needed replacing and was difficult to use. The shower faucet was tricky to use because you had to pull it straight out really, really hard. The bed was uncomfortable and hard to sleep on. The room was clean though.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

never go there

Posted Jan 17, 2011
do not stay there
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian from Washington, DC

Better than average for its price range

Posted Nov 20, 2010
The name El Dorado Inn Suites is probably a little pretentious, because the El Dorado is not quite El Dorado nor was my room, at least, a suite. However, giving the motel namer the benefit of poetic license, the El Dorado is a step above the average for its price range. (I'm retired, travel a lot, and spend 60-90 days a year in a varied assortment of motel-like places. Typically my wife and I travel together, but since she still works, I sometimes travel alone, particularly to desert areas for photographs. I was alone this time.) My room was smallish, but adequate for me, with a low-powered microwave, frig, coffee maker, a very effective Carrier HVAC system, and a definite lack of available power outlets. I had to unplug the frig in order to plug in my laptop. This wasn't much of a sacrifice, however, since the frid was too noisy anyway. The big inconvenience was that the Internet was either having trouble or is shared by the lower half of Nogales. With patience, I was able to check email, but there wasn't enough bandwidth to check my bank account (timed out, repeatedly) or do any other activity. I finally gave up and drove up to the McDonalds which has free WiFi (the one on the way into town on West Mariposa Road – the closest McDonalds is in a Home Depot store and doesn’t have free WiFi). Since I was only there overnight, and was off at dawn, I didn’t have any experience with the local nightlife or neighborhood.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

"Terrible Experience"

Posted Jun 9, 2010
Not only the hotel looks dirty, but they promised to have a continental breakfast, but when I went to get it, they just told me that the lady who cooks didn't show up, so they didn't have breakfast that day. The shower in the room didn't work and when I explained that to the owner, he just told me that I didn't know how to use them, but didn't do an effort to check it out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

ok for over night

Posted Jun 2, 2010
The owner and help were very, very good. Excellent service. The rooms could of been cleaner, really disappointed in that. Tthe condition of the rooms were OK could of used a bit of sprucing up. Fridge and microwave there, they were extremely clean and worked well. Location was about 1 mile from border. My main concern was that it could of been a lot cleaner. Breakfast was made to order and good, also good service on that. Bar was not open, said not enough business. Would probably stay again for the price compared to the rest of the hotel prices down there. Shower pressure was excellent, but little packs of soap and shampoo. No coffee pot in room. As we were going to Nogales for all of the next day, just spent sleeping hours there. Would not stay for extended time, more than just overnight, but for overnight it was OK. the Hilton, it was not. Like I said, service was excellent, just needed some good cleaning and a bit of sprucing up.