Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by emma from york

Full of drunkards & party groups on a weekend

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We felt like we were back in the middle of a university tour, no sleep all night due to parties in the corridor, gym equipment mainly broken or incomplete & soft old mattresses
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

A Saturday night at the First Hotel in Aalborg

Posted Jun 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a poor quality hotel which is looking very tired and is need of refurbishment. Decoration throughout the hotel is stark - mainly black and white - and all areas of the hotel show evidence of wear and tear. The bedroom we stayed in was bleak and the bathroom very basic. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the staff we met were reasonably friendly but the hotel as a whole is crying out for a complete overhaul. This hotel does not live up to its billing and is very poor value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2011 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Free Range Plumbing Only Sore Spot

Posted Oct 11, 2011
I found my room at the First Slotsberg comfortable, and the hotel in a convenient location, a few minutes walk to a supermarket, banks, basically one of the main drags in Aalborg. The staff were extremely personable and helpful, and the breakfasts, which were included in the price, varied and delicious. The one sore spot was the bathroom and its plumbing. My room had an "open shower," which is to say, only a set of curtains and two drains laid in the bathroom floor. I was kind of surprised at this set-up, but the real problem was that the drains in the floor backed up if you turned on the water (including the sink faucets) beyond a certain point that was not at all excessive. This was not only inconvenient but also a health and sanitary issue. The hotel also had free Wi-fi, which was nice. But that bathroom was a real turn-off; I wouldn't feel comfortable recommending the hotel until the management gets their act together with the plumbing, and installs bathtubs or shower stalls in rooms such as these.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, AR

First Slotshotel Aalborg - worth every kroner

Posted May 14, 2011 on Hotels.com
Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Comfy beds, close to downtown and the train station. Breakfast was delish, would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Hvidovre

Well-spend mini-vacation

Posted Nov 11, 2010 on Hotels.com
The room was very good - with 2 comfy chairs (plus two normal chairs). - TV of good quality - but suffered from not being mounted on a swing-frame - it could only be seen from 1 chair - and from the bed. :-) One strange thing about the bathroom (that happens at almost all hotels): Towels are changed everyday - no matter what you do to keep them. As said the bath was the only part that did not seem newly renovated. It was clean - and painted, but old rawl-plugs were still visible - and the watersupply was - well LOUD. The shower is poor quality - and could indeed use a de-calcification. The few sprays that came from it was going any direction - but yours. Breakfast is ok - and the staff in the breakfast-room is working hard to follow the demands from loads of "starving" guests. The bar - well-hidden - is small but serves excellent beer. Front-desk is generally smiling and forward coming. Nice hotel - in spite of the location with a lot of road-construction nearby. But it's close to everything - pedestian streets, Jomfru Ane Gade, the Nordkraft and last but not least the fjord.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cheap and cheerful

Posted Sep 2, 2010
This isn't a luxury hotel but for the price it's fairly decent. Bathroom design is rather poor (shower is not enclosed and sprays all over the bathroom floor). Staff were friendly. Breakfast was good, if a little boring, but included a few cooked items (bacon, sausages and scrambled egg). Wifi should not be relied on; it is extremely slow (too many people sharing the same connection). The hotel isn't too far from the town centre (5 minutes or so), but it is on the edge, so it's a bit industrial.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2010 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Minden, NV

Aalborg Hotel on the Fjord

Posted Jul 24, 2010
Loved the location near the fjord and city bikes at the museum next door. Third person iin the room had to sleep on a cot that was missing a slot but other than this discomfort it was a great stay!