Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Lovely hotel, lovely room nice decor, a little bit rural but still only 20 mins into Norwich.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

Lovely relaxed hotel stay!!

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: the breakfast was really enjoyable and yummy!! Loved the dimmed lighting. Staff were great. Very clean and smells lovely!!
Stayed here for one night for a mini break with my boyfriend!! The staff were really welcoming on arrival and very efficient. Rooms were really lovely and spacious, but cosy at the same time. Very clean!! Loved the dimmed lighting in the restaurant are for breakfast. Food was lovely. Can't wait to go back again!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w

Nice luxurious room

Posted Feb 15, 2015
Reception busy when I arrived. Only one girl on duty. Room spotless nice toiletries, very good room service. Lovely breakfast. Would stay again if I had more time to enjoy the facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norwich

A pleasant stay, staff need training

Posted Feb 9, 2015
This is a lovely hotel for a relaxing weekend away. We only stayed one night so not sure if much in the surrounding area etc. The rooms are lovely - spotless, large and lush toiletries. The hotel also offered a turn down service which is unusual for a 4*. The food is well priced and delicious. What let's the hotel down though are the staff, they just seem so disinterested! For example; we checked in and there was no welcome. Just fill this, sign here, off you go. Plus it was hailing/heavy rain and our room was across the courtyard so we got drenched several times. I noticed as we checked out umbrellas to be used - basic service dictates the reception staff should have told us about them on check in. No morning etc from staff (which is standard even in budget hotels). One word answers from the bar man in the Sports bar. The restaurant staff were actually very friendly and welcoming but the service itself was poor - had to chase up our wine, it actually arrived after our meal! Breakfast we asked for toast three times and it eventually came after our cooked to order breakfasts! We didn't have hot water (just warm) in the evening, when we mentioned to reception we were told "I've only just come in, they might have been playing with it. Should be ok tomorrow." No apology or concern! We didn't use the leisure facilities or spa. Overall a nice place to stay but staff could do much better!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom maidstone kent

Great hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2015
It's such a shame that on the Friday night of my stay some immature residents decided to have a party in their room until the early hours. I can't blame the hotel for the behaviour of their customers!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom essex

Nothing spectacular, but good.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Room 10
Cons: Jacuzzi. Food in sports bar
Location: Near Norwich which is ok.
We booked a superior double (room 10, very nice, very quiet). Lovely room and great bathroom. Very very clean and tidy. The lead on the kettle was showing some bare wires and where they actually put it was no where near a plug socket but couldn't fault the room really. Gym was nice. Clean etc. Staff were excellent; one girl at the gym counter was a bit stern faced but helpful. Smile more ! It won't hurt. Steam and sauna ok. Small but it was always quiet so no problem. Food...,didn't eat in Restaurant but sports bar food was ok. Just passable. Go out to eat is my advice. We went out on second night but didn't manage to get anywhere so had to come back to the hotel for dinner. Like i say....nothing spectacular. I could make better. Oh. One glass of wine is £7.45 !!!! Dear hotel.....you are in Norfolk not Miami !! Overall, its a nice place. Would i go back ? No. Would i recommend to friends ? Yes probably.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Essex

January weekend break

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: The gym is large, plenty of modern machines, and squash courts. Lounge area is cosy- lots of sofas + fire. Breakfast good with view over golf course.
Cons: The restaurant service was poor- haphazard and even sarcastic at times and the food average. The pool is very small and generally full of kids.
Location: North Norfolk coast is an hour away- Holt, Cley, Holkham Bay- all gorgeous. Lovely country walks. Norwich is 20 mins- recommend Sainsbury gallery UEA
We got a last-minute deal which was great value, however the room (31) was small and smelt incredibly musty- the smell wouldn't shift and we had to buy a scented candle to bear it. It is a shame the leisure facilities are accessed through the sports bar so not very comfortable to return to your room in a towel/robe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom norfolk

Could be a lovely hotel but needs more

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: So many things to do squash swimming gym golf you don't need to leave hotel
Cons: Cleanliness was low.
Lovely stay but hotel room wasn't clean. No reception on mobiles so no good for buisness. Gym needs updating machine old. Shower in gym were dirty with ladies things laying about! This was brought to staff attention but with no response. Food cold with members complaining. Lovely location with great company had a good time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford

Ideal base in countryside to explore Norwich

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Very pleasant hotel with comfy beds, good facilities and food. Staff struggled to cope with Sunday breakfast however, resulting in long delays. The bill on checkout was strewn with errors, double charging the previous nights restaurant bill as well as another rooms bar bill! All in all though a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com